Heward's Handy Haversack != Quickdraw
I had this discussion with my group, and we came to a pretty clear conclusion. Some clarification is in order, but I don't really see a house rule situation here.
As stated above, retrieving an item from Heward's is not the same thing as readying a weapon. I do not believe this is the case, even for blunt or thrown weapons. Giving this item quickdraw ability is overpowered for the item's cost.
So, what good is it then? It's good because not every item you use requires a ready action. Need a potion of healing? Free action puts it in your hand. Retrieving an item from an ordinary pack is a move-equivalent action in the first place, thus the errata on the Haversack.
I have no problem with the errata as written. Just don't read anything into it that's not there. If they intended this item to give a quickdraw effect, it would be stated in the description. Instead it simply says "retrieve as a free action", not "ready as a free action". QED
I had this discussion with my group, and we came to a pretty clear conclusion. Some clarification is in order, but I don't really see a house rule situation here.
As stated above, retrieving an item from Heward's is not the same thing as readying a weapon. I do not believe this is the case, even for blunt or thrown weapons. Giving this item quickdraw ability is overpowered for the item's cost.
So, what good is it then? It's good because not every item you use requires a ready action. Need a potion of healing? Free action puts it in your hand. Retrieving an item from an ordinary pack is a move-equivalent action in the first place, thus the errata on the Haversack.
I have no problem with the errata as written. Just don't read anything into it that's not there. If they intended this item to give a quickdraw effect, it would be stated in the description. Instead it simply says "retrieve as a free action", not "ready as a free action". QED