Hold Person and Polymorph

Iku Rex said:
MUST possess. So clearly what we have here is a contradiction, right?

Hmm? No, it's an exception.

You must possess material components... unless you have Eschew Materials, in which case you don't need them.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Iku Rex said:
Ignore what? :confused:

Typically, in an ongoing conversation, 'that' is used to represent the most recently discussed concept.

I think it becomes even more obvious what is being discussed when it's quoted in the post.

Specifically - we're expected to use common sense to realise that shillelagh doesn't end when cast, based on the concept that it wouldn't make sense to have the spell behave that way. So therefore shillelagh clearly doesn't re-evaluate the target parameters after casting.

However for some bizarre reason, known only to yourself, we're not allowed to build on that conclusion and extend it to other spells, because OBVIOUSLY they should work in totally different ways.
 

Saeviomagy said:
Typically, in an ongoing conversation, 'that' is used to represent the most recently discussed concept.

I think it becomes even more obvious what is being discussed when it's quoted in the post.
So: But are supposed to ignore that [anyone sufficiently intelligent to read a DnD rulebook will understand that shillelagh doesn't end when you cast it] when passing any judgement on any comparable situation, situations which have no other evidence for or against them. I see.

Nonsense.

Or maybe it's: But are supposed to ignore that [it's not "unclear" in any way] when passing any judgement on any comparable situation, situations which have no other evidence for or against them. I see.

Nonsense.

Saeviomagy said:
Specifically - we're expected to use common sense to realise that shillelagh doesn't end when cast, based on the concept that it wouldn't make sense to have the spell behave that way. So therefore shillelagh clearly doesn't re-evaluate the target parameters after casting.
So therefore shillelagh clearly doesn't re-evaluate the target parameters after casting with regards to the shillelagh spell creating a magic weapon. (Unless you go with the "the target is still nonmagical" interpretation, but that's beside the point here.)

Based on the fact that the spell has a duration of 1 min./level.
Saeviomagy said:
However for some bizarre reason, known only to yourself, we're not allowed to build on that conclusion and extend it to other spells, because OBVIOUSLY they should work in totally different ways.
(I'm getting a little tired of people inventing opinions to argue against and attributing them to me. At least spell out the claims and opinions yall are so vehemently opposing - it seems like I lack the "special" mindset required to divine them from your posts.)
 

Remove ads

Top