Hold the Line feat with a Trident or Spear

Kai Lord said:
I'm pretty sure you're never allowed more than one AoO against a single opponent in a round.

This has changed in 3.5; you are allowed to make one AoO per *opportunity*, though most combatants still only have one attack per round. Combat Reflexes allows you to make an addtional attack for each additional opportunity given by an opponent, up to your Dex mod. (PHB p92.)
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

In 3.5e, you are allowed an AoO against an opponent for each different triggering event. Example, character moves up next to Large opponent, triggering an AoO, then casts a spell, triggering another AoO (only if Large opponent has Combat Reflexes.) In the above sequence, if the person with Hold the Line has Combat Reflexes, then he/she gets both AoOs (different triggers).
 


Laman Stahros said:
Blast, you beat me to it, Chroma.:D

Only by the thinnest of margins... *laugh* I had to fumble around for the reference in the PHB... I'm glad I had it nearby! *laugh*

I tried to send you a PM, do you have it disabled Laman?
 

Kai Lord said:
I'm pretty sure you're never allowed more than one AoO against a single opponent in a round.

The 3.5 rule is "Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn’t count as more than one opportunity for that opponent."

Hold the Line does not provide an AoO for moving out of a threatened square; it provides an AoO for moving into a threatened square, and thus is not affected by the restriction.

In fact, strictly, if you have 10 foot inclusive reach, Hold the Line, and Combat Reflexes, you get three AoOs when someone charges you - one when they enter a square you threaten (Hold the Line), one when they leave a square you threaten (movement), and one when they enter the other square you threaten (Hold the Line again), since strictly, entering your 10 foot square and your 5 foot square are two separate instances that trigger the Hold the Line feat.

-Hyp.
 


Hypersmurf said:
In fact, strictly, if you have 10 foot inclusive reach, Hold the Line, and Combat Reflexes, you get three AoOs when someone charges you - one when they enter a square you threaten (Hold the Line), one when they leave a square you threaten (movement), and one when they enter the other square you threaten (Hold the Line again), since strictly, entering your 10 foot square and your 5 foot square are two separate instances that trigger the Hold the Line feat.

-Hyp.

Gah! *twitch* spiked chain *twitch*
 

Remove ads

Top