How fast are fast wands?

Don't have the book on me at the moment, but I checked this specific question about a month ago. The Miniatures Handbook explicitely states that Wands and Scrolls with Swift Actions still take a Standard Action to activate.

Pinotage
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Elephant said:
I'd provisionally allow the 4th level Wand of Quickened Magic Missiles using the cost-reducing feat. If it became a problem, it would be gone. It would be worth trying, though.

Would you allow a Cleric with the Divine Metamagic (Quicken) feat to Quicken every Scroll and Wand he makes for free? After all, by spending four Turning Attempts, he negates the Metamagic cost entirely. How is this any different?
 

juliaromero said:
Well, okay, but that's just lame. It's kind of hard to picture a wand being slower than a scroll to use. I have a hard time picturing a scroll as a free action at all.

Think of it like this, a wand requires gestures and some command words.

For a scroll, the magic is imbedded in the paper, the spell is ready it just needs to be released. So a quick word, or maybe even crushing the paper a certain way releases it.
 



UltimaGabe said:
Would you allow a Cleric with the Divine Metamagic (Quicken) feat to Quicken every Scroll and Wand he makes for free? After all, by spending four Turning Attempts, he negates the Metamagic cost entirely. How is this any different?

Nope. That would be going too far.
 

Elephant said:
That's nonsensical if you make a Wand of Featherfall...
No, it still makes sense that a wand of Featherfall takes a std action to activate. Since all wands take (at least) that long.

What is nonsensical is that anyone would bother making such a wand since it is fairly unuseful.
 

Double Wand Wielder from the Complete Arcane allows you to wield 2 wands in one round as a full round action, but drains 2 charges from each wand.

The Artificer ability Metamagic Spell Trigger allows you to apply metamagic feats that you have to spell trigger items, like wands, if you also have the craft wand feat.

I think others have pointed out that, unless acted upon by a feat or ability, a wand containing a spell with a casting time of Swift Action, takes a Standard Action to activate.
 

cmanos said:
Double Wand Wielder from the Complete Arcane allows you to wield 2 wands in one round as a full round action, but drains 2 charges from each wand.

The Artificer ability Metamagic Spell Trigger allows you to apply metamagic feats that you have to spell trigger items, like wands, if you also have the craft wand feat.

I think others have pointed out that, unless acted upon by a feat or ability, a wand containing a spell with a casting time of Swift Action, takes a Standard Action to activate.

And I say: If that's what the rules dictate, then the rules are stupid.

Wait, I already knew that. Houserule! Move along...
 

Remove ads

Top