How many Gloves of storing??

Coredump

Explorer
I was always of the opinion that you could have 2 gloves of storing... but I have been looking more closely at the rules.

Under "Magic Items on the Body" it states
A humanoid-shaped body can be decked out in magic gear consisting of one item from each of the following groups, keyed to which place on the body the item is worn.

One glove, pair of gloves, or pair of gauntlets on the hands
One ring on each hand (or two rings on one hand)
Note, for rings it says you can have one ring on each hand, or two rings total. But for Gloves it says *one* glove *or* a pair of gloves. And the initial directions say one time from each group.

Well, it seems if you have one glove of storing, then you have one item from that group, and cannot have another glove of storing.

Comments?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I'd say the RAW are pretty clear on this point. One glove fills the availble item slot. You can't wear two gloves of storing.

I vaguely remember the 3.0 DMG calling this out specifically in the item description, but I don't have my 3.0 books handy. In any case, the item slot description covers it pretty well.
 

I've noticed that too. Also, it's made me curious as to whether or not you can wear both of the following at the same time (and benefit from both at the same time):

Gauntlet of Rust
and
a +1 Adamantine Spiked Gauntlet (or +1 Adamantine Gauntlet).
 

Again, unless otherwise stated by a specific rule to allow the example (as in the case of rings) I would say that either the gauntlet of rust or the +1 Adamantine Spiked gauntlet could be worn for benefit. Again, though, if there are specific words in the description of the items, that would be a different matter.
 


I'd disagree with the previous poster, at least as a local ruling. Despite being a gauntlet, a +1 Adamantine Spiked Gauntlet is more like a weapon than a 'worn' magical item; it should not consume an item slot any more than a longsword does.
 

was said:
If that's what you believe, then play it that way. The RAW are just guidelines.

"Firstly, wearin' two gloves o' storin' wasn't part of our arrangment, so I must do nothing. Secondly, you've got to be a player for the RAW to apply and thirdly, the RAW is more what you'd call guidelines than actual rules." - GM Barbosa, on a good day.
 


I think the "one glove" rule is designed to keep folks from wearing a glove of dexterity +2 and a glove of storing and claiming both benefits.

Mind you, I'd let a player wear only a single glove of dexterity.... he'd just have trouble playing the bass notes and the high notes at the same time....
 

Warehouse23 said:
I think the "one glove" rule is designed to keep folks from wearing a glove of dexterity +2 and a glove of storing and claiming both benefits.
Except the rules already cover that. The description for the gloves already says you need both for it to work. (for dexterity, not for storing)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top