How many hands do you need to use a scroll?

DM-Rocco

Explorer
This should be a quick question, but we will see.

How many hands do you need to use a scroll?

I can't find anything in the books. Logic says two hands, but if it doesn't say in the book, perhaps you could pick up the top of the scroll, drop the rest of it and then read and cast. Or perhaps not.

Basically wondering if you can cast a spell from a scroll while holding a staff?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

DM-Rocco said:
How many hands do you need to use a scroll?
Technically none under the right circumstances. It's up to you (and your DM) as to how it's described. Since the rules say: "Scrolls that hold three or more spells are usually fitted with reinforcing rods at each end rather than simple strips of leather." it's not hard to envision such scrolls unrolling just by holding the top (due to the weight of the metal rod at the bottom). Also, it will likely be more flexible than regular paper (since it's usually made out of vellum or linen-type paper)

Basically wondering if you can cast a spell from a scroll while holding a staff?
It's certainly possible. At worst you might need to assist with your staff-holding hand (meaning you won't be threatening with the staff, but at least you won't have to drop it).
 

mvincent said:
Technically none under the right circumstances. It's up to you (and your DM) as to how it's described. Since the rules say: "Scrolls that hold three or more spells are usually fitted with reinforcing rods at each end rather than simple strips of leather." it's not hard to envision such scrolls unrolling just by holding the top (due to the weight of the metal rod at the bottom). Also, it will likely be more flexible than regular paper (since it's usually made out of vellum or linen-type paper)

It's certainly possible. At worst you might need to assist with your staff-holding hand (meaning you won't be threatening with the staff, but at least you won't have to drop it).
Of course, as a wizard, I am not worried about making AoO:)

Hmm, I was hoping for a straight forward answer from the DMG that I might have missed. I did think of that too, the trick with the weight of the rods to open it.

Well, maybe someone else will come back with a page reference for me.

Thanks for your imput though, it helps ;) :) :D
 

DM-Rocco said:
Of course, as a wizard, I am not worried about making AoO:)

Hmm, I was hoping for a straight forward answer from the DMG that I might have missed.
Other than what I quoted earlier, there is this from the Spell Completion description:
"This is the activation method for scrolls."... "All that’s left to do is perform the finishing parts of the spellcasting (the final gestures, words, and so on)."... "Activating a spell completion item is a standard action and provokes attacks of opportunity exactly as casting a spell does."

So I guess you'll still need another free hand for any somatic spell components.
 

mvincent said:
So I guess you'll still need another free hand for any somatic spell components.
If you want to be really strict about it, yes. I like somatic gestures more than a lot of people, but off a scroll it feels odd.

Activate the Spell
Activating a scroll requires reading the spell from the scroll. The character must be able to see and read the writing on the scroll. Activating a scroll spell requires no material components or focus. (The creator of the scroll provided these when scribing the scroll.) Note that some spells are effective only when cast on an item or items. In such a case, the scroll user must provide the item when activating the spell. Activating a scroll spell is subject to disruption just as casting a normally prepared spell would be.
Using a scroll is like casting a spell for purposes of arcane spell failure chance.
 

Remove ads

Top