Hypersmurf
Moderatarrrrh...
Magic Slim said:I'm sorry, but IMO, the specific rules of Scroll Scribing override the general rules of magic item creation. That's why i think LokiDR's quote means that the caster who scribes the scroll has to be the one that has memorized the spell.
From the rules for creating a Rod:
If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the rod, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) but need not provide any material components or focuses the spells require, nor are any XP costs inherent in a prerequisite spell incurred in the creation of the item.
From the rules for creating a Magic Weapon:
If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the weapon, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) but need not provide any material components or focuses the spells require, nor are any XP costs inherent in a prerequisite spell incurred in the creation of the item. The act of working on the weapon triggers the prepared spells, making them unavailable for casting during each day of the weapon’s creation. (That is, those spell slots are expended from his currently prepared spells, just as if they had been cast.)
From the rules for creating Magic Armor:
If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the armor, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard), must provide any material components or focuses the spells require, and must pay any XP costs required for the spells. The act of working on the armor triggers the prepared spells, making them unavailable for casting during each day of the armor’s creation. (That is, those spell slots are expended from his currently prepared spells, just as if they had been cast.)
From the rules for creating a Wondrous Item:
If spells are involved in the prerequisites for making the item, the creator must have prepared the spells to be cast (or must know the spells, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) but need not provide any material components or focuses the spells require, nor are any XP costs inherent in a prerequisite spell incurred in the creation of the item. The act of working on the item triggers the prepared spells, making them unavailable for casting during each day of the item’s creation. (That is, those spell slots are expended from his currently prepared spells, just as if they had been cast.)
... in fact, for pretty much everything except Craft Ring! So the specific rules of crafting armor, weapons, rods, wondrous items, etc - which all state that the creator must prepare the spells - overrule the section that states the spells may come from a second caster, or from a charged item, or from a spell-like ability?
It seems unlikely.
-Hyp.