Hybridization confusion!

ben7530

First Post
Hello all!

Long-time lurker, new poster.

Using the online CB, I designed an NPC: This "Ardent-lock" NPC has, at 2nd level five PPs, which seems quite broken!

I thought a Lv.2 Psion with the "noble Adept" background would have 3 PP total?

Can someone please explain exactly what (and how) the CB is getting wrong?

Character is enumerated below:

Thanks for the help!
--B

====== Created Using Wizards of the Coast D&D Character Builder ======
DM ONLY!!!, level 2
Human, Ardent/Warlock
Ardent Mantle (Hybrid) Option: Mantle of Elation (Hybrid)
Hybrid Ardent Option: Hybrid Ardent Fortitude
Eldritch Pact (Hybrid) Option: Sorcerer-King Pact (Hybrid)
Hybrid Warlock Option: Hybrid Warlock Reflex
Hybrid Talent Option: Ardent Armor Proficiency
Psionic Augmentation (Hybrid) Option: Hybrid Power Point Option
Human Power Selection Option: Bonus At-Will Power
Dark Sun, Inherent Bonuses
Parentage - Noble (+2 to Diplomacy)
Theme: Noble Adept

FINAL ABILITY SCORES
STR 8, CON 13, DEX 10, INT 12, WIS 11, CHA 20

STARTING ABILITY SCORES
STR 8, CON 13, DEX 10, INT 12, WIS 11, CHA 18


AC: 19 Fort: 17 Ref: 16 Will: 18
HP: 30 Surges: 7 Surge Value: 7

TRAINED SKILLS
Arcana +7, Bluff +11, Diplomacy +13, Insight +6

UNTRAINED SKILLS
Acrobatics +0, Athletics –1, Dungeoneering +1, Endurance +1, Heal +1, History +2, Intimidate +6, Nature +1, Perception +1, Religion +2, Stealth +0, Streetwise +6, Thievery +0

POWERS
Basic Attack: Melee Basic Attack
Basic Attack: Ranged Basic Attack
Noble Adept Feature: Adept's Insight
Ardent Feature: Ardent Surge
Warlock's Curse Power: Warlock's Curse
Wild Talent Cantrip: Sensing Eye
: Arcane Defiling
Warlock Attack 1: Hand of Blight
Ardent Attack 1: Ire Strike
Ardent Attack 1: Wave of Fatigue
Warlock Attack 1: Curse of the Dark Dream
Warlock Utility 2: Ethereal Stride

FEATS
Level 1: Rod Expertise
Level 1: Hybrid Talent
Level 2: Great Fortitude

ITEMS
Amulet of Protection +1 x1
Adventurer's Kit
Flail x1
Rod Implement x1
Chainmail of Dwarven Vigor +1 x1
====== End ======
 

log in or register to remove this ad

aurance

Explorer
It should be 3, not 5. The CB is counting both your hybrid ardent at-will and the ardent at-will you chose for the human racial feature for the "hybrid power point option" in PHB3 p137, hence giving you the erroneous total of 5.

What the CB is not taking into account is this:

"When a racial trait lets an adventurer choose an extra at-will attack power and the adventurer chooses an augmentable at-will attack power, the power loses both the augmentable keyword and its augmentations." Rules Compendium p. 116
 

ben7530

First Post
It should be 3, not 5. The CB is counting both your hybrid ardent at-will and the ardent at-will you chose for the human racial feature for the "hybrid power point option" in PHB3 p137, hence giving you the erroneous total of 5.

What the CB is not taking into account is this:

"When a racial trait lets an adventurer choose an extra at-will attack power and the adventurer chooses an augmentable at-will attack power, the power loses both the augmentable keyword and its augmentations." Rules Compendium p. 116

Awesome answer: exactly what I was looking for. Thanks aurance!
 

Remove ads

AD6_gamerati_skyscraper

Remove ads

Upcoming Releases

Top