Moff_Tarkin
First Post
I have an interesting question about the command spell. I discussed it once with friends back during a 2nd edition game and I assume I am not the only one who has thought of it.
Command allows you to give a one word command to a creature, something like flee, stop, ect. "Suicide" doesn't work because its an action, not a command. Anyway, you probably know all that so on to the question. Can I a make up a word, teach that word and its meaning to a person, then use command to make them do it? Lets say I capture an assassin and I say to him. "I want to teach you a word. The word is glorg. Now, glorg means to say the name of the person you are working for." Then I cast command and say "Glorg"
When you think about it, what is language. Its a bunch of words that people made up to describe things and relate feelings. Language changes all the time. Words change meaning, new words get invented. So why cant I teach a person a new word then use command to make them do it? This might belong in house rules for some DMs might allow and some might not, but I placed it here in hopes of getting an official answer. Like I said, I cant be the first person to think of this, so maybe WOTC has made a ruling that I am not aware of.
Command allows you to give a one word command to a creature, something like flee, stop, ect. "Suicide" doesn't work because its an action, not a command. Anyway, you probably know all that so on to the question. Can I a make up a word, teach that word and its meaning to a person, then use command to make them do it? Lets say I capture an assassin and I say to him. "I want to teach you a word. The word is glorg. Now, glorg means to say the name of the person you are working for." Then I cast command and say "Glorg"
When you think about it, what is language. Its a bunch of words that people made up to describe things and relate feelings. Language changes all the time. Words change meaning, new words get invented. So why cant I teach a person a new word then use command to make them do it? This might belong in house rules for some DMs might allow and some might not, but I placed it here in hopes of getting an official answer. Like I said, I cant be the first person to think of this, so maybe WOTC has made a ruling that I am not aware of.