If a spell is currently too high level to cast, can you still add it to spellbook?

Regardless if you have the spell in your book or not, you still may not cast it if it is in a prohibited school.
In general this is correct. However, for the Red Wizard who adds additional prohibited schools later in his career, he can still cast those spells he learned earlier, before joining the Red Wizard prestige class.

Here's a brief quote from the 3.5 Dungeon Master Guide:

[...] The Red Wizard must choose an additional prohibited school or schools [...] He can still use the prohibited spells he knew prior to becoming a Red Wizard.
For example, let's say the level 10 Wizard (not yet Red Wizard) specializes in Divination and currently has Evocation banned. Being a level 10 Wizard, he can cast Summon Monster V and has that spell in his spellbook.

At level 11, he chooses to enter the Red Wizard PRC, and chooses Conjuration as his additional banned school. Since he already knew Summon Monster V before becoming a Red Wizard, it's 100% sure that he can cast it, even if it's technically from a prohibited school.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Thanks to everyone who chimed in. I am now convinced that by RAW, it's alright for a Wizard to copy high level spells in advance to circumvent the Red Wizard additional banned schools.

Red Mage is the one with that Circle Magic thing that's ripe for abuse as well, right?

I don't think I like this Prestige Class...

Well, Red Wizards are all about abusing others :D
 
Last edited:

I think you can't.

Rules Compendium pg 160

"Copied Spells
Spellcasters who use spellbooks can add a spell to their book whenever they find one on a scroll or in another caster's spellbook. The spell to be copied must be on the copier's class spell list. No matter what the spell's source, it must first be deciphered. Next, the decipherer must spend a day studying the spell. At the end of the day, if the decipherer can learn th spell, he makes a Spellcraft check (DC15 + spell level). If the check succeeds, the spellcaster understands the spell anc can copy it into a spellbook. . . ."

Basically you can't scribe spells you don't know. Deciphering and learning are two different things.

I haven't found the specific text for wizards that states they can only know spells of the level they can cast though.
 

The bolded text could just refer to spells from banned schools and the like. It's too vague to apply that text to say "you can't write in spells above the level you can cast."
 



Even an illiterate could/should be able to duplicate a page of squiggles without necessarily comprehending what it means ... so imo you COULD copy ANY spell, with the DC15+ spell level mechanic simply confirms you didnt make transcription errors so could be done via spellcheck, craft(forgery), craft(writing), profession(writing), etc.

However while the novice Red Wizard might copy a #th level spell into their book now, they might not ever be able to comprehend it sufficiently to learn/cast it; although it might still have value as he could still sell copies to others/etc.
 

Even an illiterate could/should be able to duplicate a page of squiggles without necessarily comprehending what it means ... so imo you COULD copy ANY spell, with the DC15+ spell level mechanic simply confirms you didnt make transcription errors so could be done via spellcheck, craft(forgery), craft(writing), profession(writing), etc.

I think you are missing the intent of the spellbook.

The "notes" and such are for the caster to be able to prepare the spell. They are "magical" writings.

The spellbook (in 3.X) is akin to a personnal receipe for each spell. So it is essentially the way an individual knows how to cast the spell. The basics might be similar but since every person learns differently each spellbook is unique.

This is one reason why you can no longer cast a spell directly from a spellbook the way you can a scroll.
 

[MENTION=16285]irdeggman[/MENTION] - correct, which is why it takes hours of concentrated effort to comprehend those notes before any given effect may be cast.

Its akin to having a 4th grader copy passages from a college-graduate text to practice their writing skill - not comprehending the words/formulas would not prevent him from making a legible copy, completely usable by someone who does. The skill check determines how accurate the resulting copy is.

Likewise, a wizard might copy a clerical/druid scroll knowing he cant use it directly but may encounter someone finding someone who understands what he's found and willing to trade for something he needs/wants.
 

[MENTION=16285]irdeggman[/MENTION] - correct, which is why it takes hours of concentrated effort to comprehend those notes before any given effect may be cast.

Its akin to having a 4th grader copy passages from a college-graduate text to practice their writing skill - not comprehending the words/formulas would not prevent him from making a legible copy, completely usable by someone who does. The skill check determines how accurate the resulting copy is.

Likewise, a wizard might copy a clerical/druid scroll knowing he cant use it directly but may encounter someone finding someone who understands what he's found and willing to trade for something he needs/wants.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top