Imbue Arrow...


log in or register to remove this ad

melkoriii said:
No you cant use a item (scroll, wand etc.) with Imbue Arrow.

Activiating a magic item is a standard action. You only have one so you cant then use Imbue Arrow as that requires a standard action.

Imbue Arrow says "It takes a standard action to cast the spell and fire the arrow." But casting a spell is not activating a magic item.

This has been talked about before.

Well, all this says is that the topic was not covered in the rules. Because, lets face it, it takes time to cast that spell, and it takes time to use that staff, and all that rule was mean to do was say you needed a standard action to use the imbue arrow ability, and that standard action included the casting of a spell.

You know, it also didn't say anything about spells that normally have a casting time of more than a standard action. Really, go back and read it. Which means that an arcane archer could, using a strick by the book rules interpretation, cast a spell that normally requires a three day ritual on the arrow as a standard action and then fire that arrow.

I'd rule that you could indeed cast the spell from a staff or item in the imbuing process. Looking at the intent
1) Imbue arrow was meant to make you able to put a spell in
2) Said magic items are meant to give you an alternate source of spell casting.

So, unless it specifically stated that you CANNOT do this, I'd rule that it's within the intent to say that you can.
 

ARandomGod they makers of the game have said meny times.

If there is a question on weather you can do something, its best to rule only what it said you can do. Not the other way around.

If you did that, the game would get way out of hand as there are soo meny places where it doesnt say you cant.

Wish doesnt say I cant wish to become a god.
 
Last edited:

If an Arcane Archer imbues an arrow with Fireball and that arrow gets deflected, does the spell still go off?

If yes, would it go off on the target or would you have to roll where the arrow landed and have it go off there?
 

It seems to be even easier to fire the arrow at the feet of the character with the deflect arrow feat or even any character, for "the spell's area is centered on where the arrow lands". :D

I think you (or the DM in charge) must decide whether to qualify "lands" as "first bodily contact" or as "to see where the arrow lies still after being shot". Count me in as "first bodily contact" because the imbue arrow ability from a prestige class would be diminished by a normal feat. Just my guess.

Kind regards

Having fun with imbued arrows....
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top