Inherent Bonus stacking question

Graz

First Post
I have a question about inherent bonus stacking. As I understand it from the DMG you can have up to a +5 inherent bonus to each attribute.

Now I remember reading something from the Sage about books that grant inherent bonuses. If you read a +2 book, then you have to read a +3 or greater book to get any further increase.

My question is this: my character has read a +4 wisdom book. Now to get the last point of inherent bonus I would have to read a +5 book. But what about the Book of Vile Darkness? This (minor?) artifact grants a +1 inherent bonus to wisdom, would I not get this benefit because I've read the +4 book already? Or as this is an artifact it would override the normal rule and just top off my inherent bonus at +5?

How would you interpret the rules in this scenario? I find it a bit hard to swallow that I would not get this benefit of the artifact because I've already read a +4 book, even though I have not topped off my inherent bonus.

I'm interested in what others think about this.

Thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Graz said:
This (minor?) artifact grants a +1 inherent bonus to wisdom, would I not get this benefit because I've read the +4 book already?

Correct. Inherent bonuses do not stack.

Graz said:
Or as this is an artifact it would override the normal rule and just top off my inherent bonus at +5?

No. Inherent bonuses do not stack. Even artifacts don't change this. The only way around it is to grant an unnamed or different type of bonus.

Graz said:
I find it a bit hard to swallow that I would not get this benefit of the artifact because I've already read a +4 book, even though I have not topped off my inherent bonus.

I'm interested in what others think about this.

An inherent bonus is an inherent bonus, no matter where it comes from.
 

Well, looking at this from a rule lawer's point of view, I would say that you would NOT get the bonus, but being an artifact... well at that point, it's trully up to the DM, since Artifacts are ment to break the system.
 

They don't stack. If the artifact was meant to break the normal system, it would have been an unnamed bonus as not sean said above.
 

I must agree with the others. They ARE correct (and I just missed that), they would have just given it generic bonus if it was ment to. (Does this make me spineless for changing my opinion? ;))
 

More likely, it would say something to the effect of, "Using this artifact gives you a +1 inherent bonus to your wisdom. If you already have an inherent bonus to your wisdom, this bonus is raised by one."

I can see why they wouldn't want to add another bonus type to an ability score, but could have it fall in between.

Nevertheless, this statement is not there.
 


Note that Inherent Bonuses are seemingly supposed to collect like lego pieces until you hit your +5 maximum.

Wishes, for example, each give you a +1, and somehow collect in an ill defined way to give you a +5 total.

However, that's not what the rules actually say.

They say that you have to cast the wishes in immediate succession, and that they do not stack.

Your DM is well within their rights to have Inherent Bonuses stack up to the +5 limit, and mechanically that makes their accumulation a lot more sensical.

However, by the book, the two would in no ways stack together.

-Frank
 

FrankTrollman said:
Wishes, for example, each give you a +1, and somehow collect in an ill defined way to give you a +5 total.

What's ill-defined about it?

Two wishes cast in immediate succession give a +2 inherent bonus.

Two wishes cast a day apart give two +1 inherent bonuses, which overlap.

If you'd previously read a +3 Tome for the same ability, you just wasted four wishes, since you now have a +3 inherent bonus, a +2 inherent bonus, and two +1 inherent bonuses, all overlapping, for a total of +3.

-Hyp.
 

Technically...they wouldn't stack. Now if you want my 2 cents worth, I would make the artifact provide a permanent +1 Divine Bonus to Wisdom...

Cedric
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top