doosler said:
As I posted before, if a round is 6 seconds long, and a fighter can make 4 attacks in a round, then I assume it takes the fighter 6 seconds to make those 4 attacks. If his opponent is not able to make a single attack before the fighter has made all 4 of his attacks, then his opponent is not making his first attack until after the 6th second -- not until the subsequent round.
How will you deal with 5' steps and reach?
Let's say we have two fighters, one with a longsword and one with a longspear, each with a BAB of 16 - 4 attacks on a full attack action.
Let's say they start adjacent to each other, and the longsword wins initiative.
Under the RAW:
Round 1: Longsword fighter attacks 4 times.
Longspear fighter takes a 5' step (since he cannot attack an adjacent opponent) and attacks 4 times.
Round 2: Longsword fighter takes a 5' step (since he can only attack an adjacent opponent) and attacks 4 times.
Longspear fighter takes a 5' step (since he cannot attack an adjacent opponent) and attacks 4 times.
In two rounds, each fighter has made two full attacks, for a total of eight attacks each.
Now we assume that attacks must alternate instead.
Round 1: Longsword fighter attacks.
Longspear fighter takes a 5' step (since he cannot attack an adjacent opponent) and attacks.
Longsword fighter takes a 5' step and attacks.
Longspear fighter cannot attack - he's too close - and he can't move any further away, since he's already taken a 5' step. He can't do anything else.
Longsword fighter attacks twice more.
Round 2: same as before.
In two rounds, the longsword fighter has made two full attacks, for a total of eight attacks; the longspear fighter has only made one attack each round.
----
Will you change the way 5' steps work in order to prevent your alternating attack rule from having this effect?
----
Let's say we have a dagger thrower, who gets four attacks a round, and an opponent who is ten feet away. The daggerman wins initiative.
Round 1: Daggerman throws 4 daggers at no penalty for range.
Opponent moves 60 feet (two move actions).
Round 2: Opponent is out of range for a thrown dagger, so the daggerman must move 30 feet and then throw a single dagger at a -4 penalty.
Opponent retreats further.
How does your house rule play out in this situation?
Round 1: Daggerman throws one dagger at no penalty. How far does the opponent move before the second dagger is thrown? A third of sixty feet? A single move action?
----
Let's say we have a sorcerer casting an Empowered Fireball defensively. This requires a full-round action, but the casting does not extend outside his own turn, so under the RAW, the only way to disrupt the casting is with a readied action. But if it takes his whole turn, then presumably under your ruling - even though he has won initiative - his opponent (who has four attacks) will get at least three of them in before he finishes. Do these attacks have a chance to disrupt the spell?
Let's say he's casting a normal Fireball, which only requires a standard action. He can cast the spell and move - that's two things. His opponent can make four attacks - that's four things. For consistency, even though the sorcerer won initiative, won't at least one of the opponent's four attacks occur during the casting of the spell? If it doesn't, then we're saying that a move action takes as long as four attacks, since all four attacks occur after the sorcerer's standard action, when he only has a move action remaining. But if a move action is as long as four attacks, but a standard action is faster than even one attack, that means that a standard action is faster than a move action, right? Yet we can take a move action in place of a standard action, but not vice versa.
-Hyp.