Seems odd to me that a ready action could be so restrictive...I mean, if I ready an action "to shoot at any spellcaster", do I then have to shoot a party member because I didn't specify "enemy spellcaster"? Even if they did hear the spellcasting (which, BTW, I am assuming they did not), I dont think their readied action should tie them into shooting at an unseen opponent.
Is the readied action rule really so hard and fast that you have to carry out your readied action to the letter despite any unforseen circumstances? If I ready an action "to shoot at the next creature to cast a spell" and an avatar of my chosen god suddenly materializes and starts casting, do I have to shoot at him? :\