Is 5 ft step a move?

Aithne

First Post
Is the 5 foot step a move? can I draw a weapon while taking a 5ft step if my BAB is +1 or higher? If I take a full round action, can I draw a weapon while taking a 5 ft step if my BAB is +1 or higher?

I cannot seem to find that a 5 ft step is not a move. Someone please point me in the right direction.

Aithne
 

log in or register to remove this ad

A 5ft step is a free action (not a move action)

What this means is that you could (for example) take a 5ft step, then execute a full attack. However drawing a weapon is (by default) a move-equivalent action, with the caveat that you can take it alongside an actual move action if you have a +1 or better BAB. So in other words, you cannot draw a weapon during a 5ft step by default; it needs to be a move action. In the above case if your weapon was sheathed you could step 5ft, draw it, and attack once.

Note that quickdraw makes drawing a weapon a free action.
 

As I recall, a 5' step is not technically a move. I don't think it actually says that anywhere in the DMG but the rules ragarding the 5' step are different than the rules regarding a "move".

Tzarevitch
 

A 5ft step is not a move. You can not take one if you have moved more then 5ft.

No you can not draw a weapon in a 5ft step. (PHB p.275)
 

Thanks melkorii, that is exactly what I was looking for.

Aithne

melkoriii said:
A 5ft step is not a move. You can not take one if you have moved more then 5ft.

No you can not draw a weapon in a 5ft step. (PHB p.275)
 

Technically, you could draw your weapon as a free action while moving 5 feet if you have a BAB of +1 or higher and YOU DECLARE IT AS A MOVE ACTION. As a move action you can move UP TO your speed. Of course, you can still only make a single attack action or move-equivalent action afterwards so it boils down to the exact same thing.
Its all somantics.
And as Mel Gibson said in one of the Lethal Weapon flicks, "I'm always up for somantics." :p
 

Silver Griffon said:
Technically, you could draw your weapon as a free action while moving 5 feet if you have a BAB of +1 or higher and YOU DECLARE IT AS A MOVE ACTION. As a move action you can move UP TO your speed. Of course, you can still only make a single attack action or move-equivalent action afterwards so it boils down to the exact same thing.
Its all somantics.
And as Mel Gibson said in one of the Lethal Weapon flicks, "I'm always up for somantics." :p

I beleive there is a passage that says to draw your weapon as a free action with a move, the move has to be more then 5ft. Im at work so dont have my books with me.

Though personaly I dont see a problem with what you said. You still only get your one attack.
 


It's true that you could declare a Move action of only 5', and simultaneously draw your weapon. That usually has the same result as taking a 5' Step and drawing as a MEA. However, if you are standing in a threatened area, declaring a Move will provoke AoO.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top