Keeping a Troll Down

dcollins said:
Just to conclude my end of this, I also apply "common sense" metrics, and in this case it synchronizes with the literal rule. I see CDG as basically severing a major organ (heart, neck, skull). Liquids aren't able to do that, so I don't visualize pouring such into an open wound as being intrinsically fatal.

If you splash your average commoner (4 HP) with acid (1d6 damage), there's a chance you'll kill him. That implies that the acid does enough damage to severely injure the commoner...at least as much damage as a short sword is capable of doing. Since it's acid, it must degrade flesh, leaving a chemically burned wound. If you can cut someone's throat or stab them in the heart with a short sword, surely you can do the same kind of action with a liquid that does the same quantity of damage as a short sword. E.g. pouring the acid on the creature's throat to burn away important bits, or as mentioned above, pouring it in a wound to burn away its heart.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Upon further reflection this afternoon (thanks to you guys for prompting this) here's my new "common sense" understanding of the CDG requirements: "anything that could be used to slaughter an animal in a butcher's shop". Commonly used real-life implements, as I understand it: club, knife, closely-held bullet. Not succeeding at visualizing how one would use fire or acid for the same purpose.

Hope that wasn't distressing to anyone.
 

For you mages out there, per the RAW you can CdG (coup de grace) with chill touch but not with scorching ray... or even disintegrate. Go figure!
 


dcollins said:
Not succeeding at visualizing how one would use fire or acid for the same purpose.

Blowtorch to the forehead. Tracheotomy and a vial of acid.

Just off the top of my head.
 


:\ I'm wondering if given the full round, would it be possible to use the oil & fire to essentially do a coup de grace by cauterizing the fatal wound(s)?
 


Tarangil said:
:\ I'm wondering if given the full round, would it be possible to use the oil & fire to essentially do a coup de grace by cauterizing the fatal wound(s)?
You'll note that no one said they lit the oil. They just poured it on the troll. Mebbe they were trying to make a Troll tossed salad?
 

Patlin said:
For you mages out there, per the RAW you can CdG (coup de grace) with chill touch but not with scorching ray... or even disintegrate. Go figure!
Really? The last time we discussed that in this forum, we had several people claiming that by the RAW, a spell was not a melee weapon or a bow or a crossbow, and only a melee weapon or a bow or a crossbow could be used to CDG. ;)

Not that anyone would get so worked up about the RAW on this new, kinder, gentler, more-tolerant-of-opposing-views Rules Forum, of course. :p
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top