Large creature vs. doorways

Quasqueton

First Post
From the SRD:
Squeezing: In some cases, you may have to squeeze into or through an area that isn’t as wide as the space you take up. You can squeeze through or into a space that is at least half as wide as your normal space. Each move into or through a narrow space counts as if it were 2 squares, and while squeezed in a narrow space you take a -4 penalty on attack rolls and a -4 penalty to AC.
When a Large creature (which normally takes up four squares) squeezes into a space that’s one square wide, the creature’s miniature figure occupies two squares, centered on the line between the two squares. For a bigger creature, center the creature likewise in the area it squeezes into.

A creature can squeeze past an opponent while moving but it can’t end its movement in an occupied square.

To squeeze through or into a space less than half your space’s width, you must use the Escape Artist skill. You can’t attack while using Escape Artist to squeeze through or into a narrow space, you take a -4 penalty to AC, and you lose any Dexterity bonus to AC.
So, can a horse or ogre move (squeeze) through a normal doorway? Or is doing so an escape artist check?

Quasqueton
 

log in or register to remove this ad


I would say horses and ogres could, because they are not literally 10 ft. wide creatures. Thats just how they get represented on a tactical map for ease of use. But both would definately be in the "squeezed" category and ripe for attacks by ambushers.
 

The rule has 2 parts:
1 - the space is at least half as wide as your normal space: -4 Att., -4 AC
2 - the space is less than half your space’s width: Escape Artist check, -4 AC, no dex to AC, no Attack

Even if the doorway have been made for humans, I think this is the first stituation for the ogre: no escape artist check but -4 Att and -4 AC.
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top