Little Known Rules of D&D

shdwrnr said:
A sai, that pointy thing Raphael from the ninja turtles uses, deals bludgeoning damage.

They are bludgeoning weapons.

Wiki said:
Sai is the Ryukyu name for a traditional Okinawan weapon also used in India, China, Indonesia, Malaysia and Thailand. Its basic form is that of an unsharpened dagger, with two long, unsharpened projections (tsuba) attached to the handle. The very end of the handle is called the knuckle.

In Hollywood, however, sai are portrayed as a much more offensive weapon. They are used like a combination of a sword, dagger and a throwing dart often on the big screen. Little play is given to striking with the knuckle. Thus, the normally unsharpened weapon is portrayed as a sharpened one.

Link
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sai_(weapon)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

A letter opener is an unsharpened dagger too. While I could very well punch you in the face with the hand that's holding it, I don't think it's stretching the imagination by saying I could use it to stab you in the eye. But then again a short sword can't be used to cut anything, so I guess this is the way things work in DnD.
 

shdwrnr said:
A letter opener is an unsharpened dagger too. While I could very well punch you in the face with the hand that's holding it, I don't think it's stretching the imagination by saying I could use it to stab you in the eye. But then again a short sword can't be used to cut anything, so I guess this is the way things work in DnD.

If you try to stick a sai into a table, it's not going to work... compared to a knife, or a shortsword, or a javelin, where if you stab the wood hard enough, it'll stand up. The sai has a rounded end. It's not a blade that hasn't been sharpened, like a letter opener... it's more of a cylinder. A bit like trying to stab someone with the thin end of a baseball bat.

-Hyp.
 

AnonymousOne said:
How does this affect a Goliath with the "Powerful Build" Racial trait? He's counted as a Large Creature whenever it would benefit him. So does that mean that the Goliath with a Greatsword threatens a 10ft ring and a 5ft ring?

No, Powerful Build specifically does not grant the Goliath extra reach.
 


Infiniti2000 said:
Maybe a previous edition. In 3.X, a spellbook is not magical and so there's no chance the spellbook will be ruined. Was he thinking of a scroll perhaps and got confused on the wording? The appropriate rules:

1st Edition Unearthed Arcana, I think.

RC
 

Well, I was going to point out that a sai is, in fact, a bludgeoning weapon, but I've already been beat to that, twice.

A sai is basically just a club with hand guards. Nothing is remotely sharp.

Fun fact which may or may not be historically accurate (who knows?): sais were typically used as a set of three; one was kept in the belt, so that you could throw one of your sais and still have two available.
 



Don't know if anyone's mentioned this yet, but I just learned an interesting fact about counterspelling. For a counterspell to work, the target must be in range of the original spell, implying that to counter a Range: Touch spell you have to be touching the caster and that Range: Personal spells can't be counterspelled at all.
 

Remove ads

Top