log in or register to remove this ad

 

5E Marilith reactive thingy

jasper

Rotten DM
Reactive. The marilith can take one reaction on every turn in a combat.
Ok, same fight on how this works. 1. Does mean can reaction on another players initiative. 2. six reactions over the round. 3. Every initiative from 30 to 0
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Arvok

Explorer
If she's fighting 31 opponents. A reaction can only be used in response to someone else attacking you (or some other sort of action), so she could only react once per round and then only to make an opportunity attack or to parry. Parry is the only ability listed under her reaction section.

Also, she wouldn't get any reactions on the first round of combat if she were surprised.
 

Ovinomancer

No flips for you!
Reactive. The marilith can take one reaction on every turn in a combat.
Ok, same fight on how this works. 1. Does mean can reaction on another players initiative. 2. six reactions over the round. 3. Every initiative from 30 to 0
Each character and NPC have a turns on their initiative in combat. So, 1, but also on allies turns.

In other words, the normal rule os that your reaction refreshes at the start of your turn. The marilith's reaction refreshes on every turn.
 

MarkB

Legend
Reactive. The marilith can take one reaction on every turn in a combat.
Ok, same fight on how this works. 1. Does mean can reaction on another players initiative. 2. six reactions over the round. 3. Every initiative from 30 to 0
It's per turn, not per initiative count.

If 20 creatures each run past the marilith, each on their individual turn, the marilith can make opportunity attacks against each one as it leaves her reach.

But if one creature moves into and out of the marilith's reach 20 times on its turn, the marilith only get to make one opportunity attack against it.
 


MarkB

Legend
Empty initiative counts are not turns.
Indeed - and likewise, two creatures that rolled the same number for initiative each count as a separate turn, even though both act on the same initiative count.

This is particularly important if the DM is using group initiative for mobs of identical creatures. Even if the DM is having them all act as a group on the same initiative count, they're still technically each taking individual turns.
 

Eltab

Hero
#1 is true regardless of the NPC/PC: a Reaction is something you do on the other fellow's turn.

#3 modified seems to be closest to the situation here: the Marilith has a reaction for/to everybody else in the fight. (But she has only one option to use, so it may not be the case that she does in fact take that reaction.)

Make a scarier Marilith: add a Reaction to take a sword-swipe at somebody.
Make it worse: proficiency in and armed with a Reach weapon.
 
Last edited:


dave2008

Legend
Reactive. The marilith can take one reaction on every turn in a combat.
Ok, same fight on how this works. 1. Does mean can reaction on another players initiative. 2. six reactions over the round. 3. Every initiative from 30 to 0
I means the marilith can take a reaction on it turn and any turn of another combatant; though I would probably limit to the the marilith's and the PCs & allies.
 

Maxperson

Morkus from Orkus
#1 is true regardless of the NPC/PC: a Reaction is something you do on the other fellow's turn.

Not always. Sometimes they can trigger on your turn. Countering a Counterspell is an example. A reaction is just doing something in response to someone else, which usually doesn't happen on your turn.
 

billd91

Hobbit on Quest
I means the marilith can take a reaction on it turn and any turn of another combatant; though I would probably limit to the the marilith's and the PCs & allies.

Would it matter? Would her own allies be doing things that would provoke reactions from her?
 


Ovinomancer

No flips for you!
Would it matter? Would her own allies be doing things that would provoke reactions from her?
Huh. How does Ready work with multiple reactions? The rules section says you ready an action for a trigger and then use your reaction to take it, but not how that might interact with multiple unrestricted reactions. I mean, I know that I would laugh and say, "nope," but it's an interesting thought.
 

DM Dave1

Adventurer
Huh. How does Ready work with multiple reactions? The rules section says you ready an action for a trigger and then use your reaction to take it, but not how that might interact with multiple unrestricted reactions. I mean, I know that I would laugh and say, "nope," but it's an interesting thought.

A Marilith using its action for a Ready action would be quite rare in my opinion. What Chaotic Evil being is going to swap 7 attacks for maybe 1? I suppose it might use it to teleport if the PCs get aggressive after it suggests a parley.

That said, if a Marilith did choose the Ready action to make a single weapon attack, if the trigger occurs and the Marilith makes its single attack with its Reaction that turn, that is that. That is the end of the Ready action - it would not carry over to multiple Reactions, even if the same trigger occurred again.
 

Ovinomancer

No flips for you!
A Marilith using its action for a Ready action would be quite rare in my opinion. What Chaotic Evil being is going to swap 7 attacks for maybe 1? I suppose it might use it to teleport if the PCs get aggressive after it suggests a parley.

That said, if a Marilith did choose the Ready action to make a single weapon attack, if the trigger occurs and the Marilith makes its single attack with its Reaction that turn, that is that. That is the end of the Ready action - it would not carry over to multiple Reactions, even if the same trigger occurred again.
Where does it say it doesn't carry over? It says that you usually get one reaction in the ready rules, but it doesn't ever call out the Ready ends on the use of a reaction. It's like they note that other rules will mean it happens once, but the Marilith changes those other rules. And, a Marilith with lots of minions around could definitely get lots of additional attacks out of a recurrent trigger Ready action. Theoretically, of course, I'd not entertain this as anything other than a thought experiment.
 


MarkB

Legend
Would it matter? Would her own allies be doing things that would provoke reactions from her?
Quite possibly. For instance, there are some spells and effects which force a creature to use its reaction to move. If one of the marilith's allies uses such an ability on its turn to make a creature move past the marilith, the marilith would get an opportunity attack.

As another example, one of the marilith's allies might get dominated and commanded to attack the marilith, in which case the marilith may wish to use its Parry reaction.
 

DM Dave1

Adventurer
Where does it say it doesn't carry over? It says that you usually get one reaction in the ready rules, but it doesn't ever call out the Ready ends on the use of a reaction. It's like they note that other rules will mean it happens once, but the Marilith changes those other rules. And, a Marilith with lots of minions around could definitely get lots of additional attacks out of a recurrent trigger Ready action. Theoretically, of course, I'd not entertain this as anything other than a thought experiment.

I'd say it is implicit. It says Ready action. One action not multiple. Therefore, when the chosen trigger occurs and the Action is completed, the "Ready" is finished.

At the end of the day, though, the Marilith is a monster so it really doesn't have to follow PC rules. So, yeah, I guess I take it all back. :) But, as DM, I would not pull the Ready action cheese of giving the Marilith multiple regular attacks just because I'm having it choose to Ready on its own turn. The Parry Reaction seems quite strong enough against the typical party.
 

Ovinomancer

No flips for you!
I'd say it is implicit. It says Ready action. One action not multiple. Therefore, when the chosen trigger occurs and the Action is completed, the "Ready" is finished.

At the end of the day, though, the Marilith is a monster so it really doesn't have to follow PC rules. So, yeah, I guess I take it all back. :) But, as DM, I would not pull the Ready action cheese of giving the Marilith multiple regular attacks just because I'm having it choose to Ready on its own turn. The Parry Reaction seems quite strong enough against the typical party.
Oh, agreed, on all counts, except that "implicit" isn't a terribly good way to go for rules.
 

Eltab

Hero
If the Marilith had a ready-on-every-other-creature's-turn Reaction to attack an enemy that moves out of her AoO zone, and an ally that can do this : You frighten one creature which must immediately use its Reaction to flee your presence ... then the ally can scare a PC to send it running, and the Marilith can whack the PC on his/her way out - on the ally's turn. If the Marilith has several such allies (and is standing next to the Exit), it could strike several PCs before its own turn came up again.

Hmmmm...
 

Halloween Horror For 5E

Advertisement2

Advertisement4

Top