Medium PC Two-Weapon Fighting with Medium Two-Handed Weapons

gnomebarbarian said:
Oh and the large greatsword is 3d8 damage and could be used by a large creature in 1 hand with the monkey grip feat.

Actually, no, it can't be. Monkey Grip would allow a Large creature to use a Huge longsword in one hand. As noted above, in 3.5, a Huge longsword is not the same as a Large greatsword, in the same way that a Large longsword is not the same as a Medium greatsword.

Monkey Grip in 3.5 specifically lets you use a weapon sized for a creature one size category larger than you, as if you were that size. It does not let you use a two-handed weapon, sized for you, in one hand.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

**not to derail too much, I hope**

Why is Monkey Grip so misunderstood? It doesn't change the weapon category...it just changes the weapon size that you can use. It's that simple. I just don't understand why that's so hard to grasp...

/rant
 

TracerBullet42 said:
Why is Monkey Grip so misunderstood? It doesn't change the weapon category...it just changes the weapon size that you can use. It's that simple. I just don't understand why that's so hard to grasp...

Nice pun. ;)

I have two suspicions:
1) Monkey Grip did indeed work differently in 3E, because the size classifications of weapons worked differently. I suspect some folks got used to how it used to work, and haven't internalized the idea that it's changed.
2) I think some folks read what they want to read in it.
 

kenobi65 said:
Nice pun. ;)
:)
kenobi65 said:
I have two suspicions:
1) Monkey Grip did indeed work differently in 3E, because the size classifications of weapons worked differently. I suspect some folks got used to how it used to work, and haven't internalized the idea that it's changed.
2) I think some folks read what they want to read in it.
Yeah, I suppose there could be some 3.0/3.5 confusion...

It could also be that I'm just feeling extra cranky today and needed to complain about something, and Monkey Grip became my target. :p
 

Because it's illogical. So I can wield a sword built for a Large creature in one hand, but not a two-handed weapon built for a creature my size in one hand? Why not, especially if it weighs less than the Large-sized weapon?

Like a lot of rules, it just doesn't make sense. But, that's the price of trying to apply logic to this game. ;)
 

Barendd Nobeard said:
Because it's illogical. So I can wield a sword built for a Large creature in one hand, but not a two-handed weapon built for a creature my size in one hand? Why not, especially if it weighs less than the Large-sized weapon?

Like a lot of rules, it just doesn't make sense. But, that's the price of trying to apply logic to this game. ;)
C'mon, Kent, you know better than to try to apply logic to this game... ;)

Now I'm off to go grab an infinite number of slings...
 


gnomebarbarian said:
The simple true answer:

You could wield 2 handed weapons in both hands but you could only make attacks from one side of each of the weapons

read about two-bladed sword for example... "a creature wielding a 2-bladed sword in 1 hand can't us it as a double weapon- only 1 end of the weapon can be used in any given round."

it is the same for all 2 handed weapon descriptiosn in the PH.

Firstly, you're confusing double weapons with two-handed weapons. A greataxe, a halberd, and a spear are all two-handed weapons. A double sword, an urgrosh, and a quarterstaff are all double weapons (that happen to be two-handed weapons as well).

Secondly, you're misreading the rules for double weapons. It doesn't say "A Medium creature can wield a Medium two-bladed sword in one hand, but he can't use it as a double weapon". In fact, a Medium creature can't wield a Medium two-bladed sword in one hand; it's a two-handed weapon, and needs two hands to wield effecttively. However, a Large creature can wield a Medium two-bladed sword in one hand, since he treats all Medium weapons as one-handed weapons. But if he does so, the rule comes into effect: "A creature wielding a two-bladed sword in one hand can't use it as a double weapon". That rule never applies to the Medium creature, because he's prohibited from wielding it that way in the first place.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top