log in or register to remove this ad

 

D&D 5E messy's 5e newbie questions thread

delph

Explorer
Looks possible to me - at least theoretically. Of course, if that target realized he was hit much harder (ie sneak attacked) before, he's probably well advised to move out of sneak attackability before he attacked the rogue back.


PH 197 basically says resistance is applied before vulnerability. So I'd apply the immunity first and 2x0=0.
thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Benjamin Olson

Adventurer
81. Haste and rogue - can hastened rogue say: I use "haste action" as attack and my "normal attack" as a reaction "when he attacks me, I attack him" and get 2 sneak attacks this way?

Yes. They can always take the Ready action with their (normal) action, to do anything they could do with their action with their reaction after a stated trigger. That trigger and action combo certainly qualifies, given that it is one of the ones people most commonly ready (usually when someone doesn't know for sure the target is going to get violent yet, but here it works in the middle of combat as well). Readying their action has no effect on what they do with the special haste action, which they can then use to make an attack. If both the Haste action attack and the reaction attack are taken, if both hit, and if the conditions enabling sneak attack damage are in effect at both times then the Rogue can squeeze a second set of sneak attack damage into the same round.

The major downsides are that if the reaction doesn't trigger then the action is lost, if it does trigger but there is no longer a source of advantage, an ally within 5 feet, or some other condition that enables sneak attack at the earliest moment the trigger comes then the attack won't get sneak attack, and that the Rogue will have to use a reaction they may very much wish they had for Uncanny Dodge a moment later. There is also the possibility that whomever is concentrating on the Haste spell will lose concentration in the intervening turns and the Rogue will be immobilized when their held action triggers.
 


Benjamin Olson

Adventurer
82. Can I leap at end of my move, to get few feet more? Or I have to leap only to distance I can go?
By RAW, distance you jump counts out of your movement.

I find this rule is frequently ignored at most tables in those situations where there is an actual reason to be long jumping because it frequently produces unnatural results like people being unable to jump after getting too long of a running start or having to rule that the turn ends with them midair, but I suspect there is no faster way to get a DM to start rigidly enforcing that jump distance counts as movement than to try to cheese extra movement through a lot of gratuitous jumping.
 

MarkB

Legend
By RAW, distance you jump counts out of your movement.

I find this rule is frequently ignored at most tables in those situations where there is an actual reason to be long jumping because it frequently produces unnatural results like people being unable to jump after getting too long of a running start or having to rule that the turn ends with them midair, but I suspect there is no faster way to get a DM to start rigidly enforcing that jump distance counts as movement than to try to cheese extra movement through a lot of gratuitous jumping.
In that case, if you leap at the end of your move, do you end your turn in mid-air and continue your leap on your next turn?
 

BookTenTiger

Adventurer
In that case, if you leap at the end of your move, do you end your turn in mid-air and continue your leap on your next turn?
Absolutely. It's a great way to cross a chasm. The first character runs and jumps and stops midair. Then the second character jumps onto them, and jumps further, stopping in midair. Repeat until you have a bridge of midair, floating characters. Now the first character completes his jump, landing on the second character, and can easily hop across all his midair companions...

Honestly I'd say either don't allow the jump if they don't have the movement, or take the movement out of their next turn ("because of your jump last round, you only have 15 ft of movement this round.").
 


MarkB

Legend
Honestly I'd say either don't allow the jump if they don't have the movement, or take the movement out of their next turn ("because of your jump last round, you only have 15 ft of movement this round.").

No. If you are mid air at the end of you turn, you fall.
Well, that's fair - but it denies the DM the opportunity to do a classic Dukes of Hazzard freeze-frame narration.
 

billd91

Hobbit on Quest
82. Can I leap at end of my move, to get few feet more? Or I have to leap only to distance I can go?
No, you generally can’t. Jump movement comes out of your movement rate, probably to prevent people cheesing some extra distance without paying for it.
If you’re in a situation in which a character needs to cover a run up and jump distance too far for their normal rate, such as clearing a substantial obstacle in combat, consider charging them a Dash action to increase their movement allowance to accommodate the distance. If they can’t spend the dash action, then they‘re SOL and need to figure something else out.
Outside of combat, accounting for the movement rate is never going to be necessary.
 

No, you generally can’t. Jump movement comes out of your movement rate, probably to prevent people cheesing some extra distance without paying for it.
If you’re in a situation in which a character needs to cover a run up and jump distance too far for their normal rate, such as clearing a substantial obstacle in combat, consider charging them a Dash action to increase their movement allowance to accommodate the distance. If they can’t spend the dash action, then they‘re SOL and need to figure something else out.
Outside of combat, accounting for the movement rate is never going to be necessary.
There is also the classic athletics check.
 

delph

Explorer
83. Two hands fighting with melee weapons dosn't count ability modifer for offhand attack with bonus action. But what about monk unarmed fighting? Or some races with natural weapons (tabaxis, minotaurs,...)
 

83. Two hands fighting with melee weapons dosn't count ability modifer for offhand attack with bonus action. But what about monk unarmed fighting? Or some races with natural weapons (tabaxis, minotaurs,...)
You cannot make an off-hand attack if you do not have two weapons equipped. Unarmed strikes do not count. This includes things like tabaxi claws, where you see the text "can be used to make an unarmed strike". The monk's bonus action attack from Martial Arts is not an off-hand attack, so the ability score modifier to damage applies.
 

MarkB

Legend
83. Two hands fighting with melee weapons dosn't count ability modifer for offhand attack with bonus action. But what about monk unarmed fighting? Or some races with natural weapons (tabaxis, minotaurs,...)
As part of the Monk's Martial Arts ability they gain the following benefit:

  • When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon on your turn, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action. For example, if you take the Attack action and attack with a quarterstaff, you can also make an unarmed strike as a bonus action, assuming you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn.
This is separate from the normal Two Weapon Fighting rules, and therefore doesn't suffer their restrictions, but it only applies to unarmed strikes. A monk who wished to make an off-hand attack using a light melee weapon would have to do so using the standard Two Weapon Fighting rules, and would not be able to add their ability modifier to the damage.
 

delph

Explorer
Thanks both. I'v read it well. Our group was talking about I'm the biggest dmg dealer in party, but everyone read on internet that monks dmg sucks. :) So I think if it's by my misinterpreting monks unarmored attack.
 

delph

Explorer
84. Bestow curse -"While the target is cursed, your attacks and spells deal an extra 1d8 necrotic dmg to target" + when casted from 5th spell slot or higher doesn't require concentration...

what about cast Hex, then attack with anything - trigger attack deals dmg co CB ad 1d8 and hex deal dmg as spell can I add next 1d8 dmg? so 2d8 by one hexed and cursed attack?
 

DM Dave1

Hero
84. Bestow curse -"While the target is cursed, your attacks and spells deal an extra 1d8 necrotic dmg to target" + when casted from 5th spell slot or higher doesn't require concentration...

what about cast Hex, then attack with anything - trigger attack deals dmg co CB ad 1d8 and hex deal dmg as spell can I add next 1d8 dmg? so 2d8 by one hexed and cursed attack?
On a hit, extra damage is: 1d6 for the Hex (requiring concentration) and 1d8 for the Bestow Curse (cast at 5th level so it doesn't require concentration). It's going to take two turns to get that set up, of course, as you can't cast Hex and Bestow Curse on the same turn.
 

delph

Explorer
On a hit, extra damage is: 1d6 for the Hex (requiring concentration) and 1d8 for the Bestow Curse (cast at 5th level so it doesn't require concentration). It's going to take two turns to get that set up, of course, as you can't cast Hex and Bestow Curse on the same turn.
I know I can't cast it in same turn. But In fight with BBEG can ve useful.
But my question was about if BC add 1d8 to hex dmg, not only to Attack. When Spell máme dmg And Hex Is Spell making dmg.
 

"While the target is cursed, your attacks and spells deal an extra 1d8 necrotic dmg to target". So, you hit a target and it takes an extra 1d8 damage from Bestow Curse. But, because of Bestow Curse, the target takes an extra 1d8 damage from Bestow Curse, for 2d8.

Conclusion, ether Bestow Curse always does double damage (or infinite damage) or it only applies ONCE.
 

DM Dave1

Hero
I know I can't cast it in same turn. But In fight with BBEG can ve useful.
But my question was about if BC add 1d8 to hex dmg, not only to Attack. When Spell máme dmg And Hex Is Spell making dmg.
Ah, got it now. Thanks for the clarification. Yeah, the wording of the spell is a bit careless. I don't think the RAI is to grant more than 1d8 additional damage for a single attack, regardless of how many other triggered spell effects are on the target (Hex, Hunter's Mark, Booming Blade, etc).

That said, I don't think an extra 1d8 (due to new attack + hex both getting the damage boost) is going to be game breaking considering the action economy to set it up. Especially against a BBEG. Arguably, the more valuable Bestow Curse option against a BBEG would be the WIS save failure to cause the BBEG to waste their action (or waste a legendary resistance) for a turn. Then again, if a PC is relying on 3rd level spells to defeat a BBEG, good luck to the party.
 

MarkB

Legend
I know I can't cast it in same turn. But In fight with BBEG can ve useful.
But my question was about if BC add 1d8 to hex dmg, not only to Attack. When Spell máme dmg And Hex Is Spell making dmg.
As I understand it, "extra" damage is only applied when there is a base damage for it to be added to. So, for instance, if you Bestow Curse on a person and then hit them with Hold Person, you won't get the 1d8 damage then because there's nothing to add it to.

As Hex also deals Extra damage, I don't think it qualifies as dealing a base amount of damage to trigger another source of Extra damage.
 

Advertisement2

Advertisement4

Top