Metmagic Rods: Must be held?

Was wondering if anyone had any reference to a ruling (or statement) as to whether metamagic rods must be in hand or not when used.

These rods are listed as use-activated items, but apparently some types of use-activated items merely have to be ON a character, rather than specifically in hand. Pearls of power are given as an example of this in the DMG on page 213.

Thanks in advance.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Shadowdweller said:
Was wondering if anyone had any reference to a ruling (or statement) as to whether metamagic rods must be in hand or not when used.

These rods are listed as use-activated items, but apparently some types of use-activated items merely have to be ON a character, rather than specifically in hand. Pearls of power are given as an example of this in the DMG on page 213.

Thanks in advance.

There are rods that merely have to be carried, not necessarily in hand (e.g. Rod of Splendor).

The metamagic rods specify that "the wielder" can do such and such. So it boils down to interpretation. For myself, I would say that "wielding" is in hand, and not merely carried.

Andargor
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top