Dannyalcatraz said:
I gave you several in post#92: Trip, Disarm, Enervate & Baleful Polymorph.
Sorry, I guess your posting crossed in the bitstream with mine.

I have caught up on all messages up to #115.
When your attack succeeds, you deal damage. The type of weapon used determines the amount of damage you deal. Effects that modify weapon damage apply to unarmed strikes and the natural physical attack forms of creatures.
Damage reduces a target's current hit points.
Emphasis mine. Note that a successful attack deals damage. I won't cover ground that's already been covered; review previous posts, if you're interested. Notice that "damage" is very specifically defined, as well.
Other attacks that do no damage: Bull rush, Trip, etc.
As I mentioned, these don't count.
Some spell descriptions refer to attacking. All offensive combat actions, even those that don't damage opponents are considered attacks. Attempts to turn or rebuke undead count as attacks. All spells that opponents resist with saving throws, that deal damage, or that otherwise harm or hamper subjects are attacks. Spells that summon monsters or other allies are not attacks because the spells themselves don't harm anyone.
The issue here (emphasis is, again, mine) is that the MI spell specifically says
successful attacks, which narrows the definition given above. So for a normal spell, I would agree that
charm person would be an attack (assuming it was cast on a recipient that it could affect). A successful attack would mean that the recipient failed their saving throw.
Casting
charm person would destroy an image (if we somehow allow the spell to affect an image in the first place!) because while it doesn't do damage, if the recipient failed their saving throw, it would have to be considered a
successful attack for the purposes of the MI spell.
I apologize that I didn't have the time to look up these quote previously.
Btw, someone mentioned that images appear damaged because the spellcaster appears damaged, if they get caught in a
fireball, for example. But that's not what the spell says:
Figments seem to react normally to area spells (such as looking like they?re burned or dead after being hit by a fireball).
Note that it says,
looking like they are burned after being hit. There's a missing pronoun from the end of the phrase, but the clear intention (for me anyway!) is that the "being hit" refers to the image, not to the protected creature.
However, I agree with the posts in the 100-115 range, and I will drop this topic. I know how I'm going to rule IMC and that's all that really matters, isn't it?

The last thing I want to do is p*ss people off so that they won't have these discussions with me in the future!
