D&D 3E/3.5 Monk Bonus Feat (3.5)

Herzog

Adventurer
I have a question about the Monk Bonus Feat.
According to the rules, the monk does not have to meet the requirements of the mentioned feats to select the feat.
(It would be very hard on the monk if this would be the case, because they include BaB+8, among others).

However, according to the rules covering feats, requirements must be met both to select the Feat or to use that Feat.

Does this mean a monk can select his bonus feat, but never use it until he meets the requirements?

Not that I would ever rule that in my campaigns, but the RAW seems to suggest this....

Herzog
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I suppose you could make an argument for that line of reasoning, though I doubt you'd convince anyone that it was the intent of the rules for a monk to be able to select a feat he couldn't use. Why would you bother?
 

Herzog said:
I have a question about the Monk Bonus Feat.
According to the rules, the monk does not have to meet the requirements of the mentioned feats to select the feat.
(It would be very hard on the monk if this would be the case, because they include BaB+8, among others).

However, according to the rules covering feats, requirements must be met both to select the Feat or to use that Feat.

Does this mean a monk can select his bonus feat, but never use it until he meets the requirements?

Not that I would ever rule that in my campaigns, but the RAW seems to suggest this....
Considering there are a very limited selection feats at each of the 3 class levels, it's okay. If I interpret RAW strictly, I'd also go far to say that you can select one of the two listed feats at that monk level, but not at the other levels. For example, if you select Improved Grapple at 1st monk level, you cannot select Stunning Fist (the other 1st level feat option) at either 2nd monk level or 6th. If you still want Stunning Fist but already filled your 1st level bonus feat, you'd have to meet the feat's requirement as normal.
 

Ranger REG said:
If I interpret RAW strictly, I'd also go far to say that you can select one of the two listed feats at that monk level, but not at the other levels. For example, if you select Improved Grapple at 1st monk level, you cannot select Stunning Fist (the other 1st level feat option) at either 2nd monk level or 6th.

I've never heard it ruled any other way. I didn't realise there was an interpretation that allowed a monk to take Stunning Fist as a 2nd-level bonus feat out there.

-Hyp.
 

Herzog said:
However, according to the rules covering feats, requirements must be met both to select the Feat or to use that Feat.
For normal feats, this is true. For bonus feats, it is not. Taken from the Monsters section, "Creatures often do not have the prerequisites for a bonus feat. If this is so, the creature can still use the feat." This is the best definition of "bonus feat" and not just "feat" I could find. Note that the word bonus as a different definition altogether.
 

Remove ads

Top