Monk/PsyWar clarification

Scion said:
Intersting option, I prefer to keep any and all interesting, but not overpowering, options open if at all possible.
I could be pursuaded to House Rule the spell to allow multiple touches as well, but I think that the spell fairly clearly allows only one touch, as written. ;)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

We disagree then. I think that a 2nd level power for 3pp which would allow a character to do a potential additional 20d6 damage (off hand weapon restriction noted) against anyone not protected by acid resistance - which will be most foes - is too powerful. The monk/psywar in question could have used expansion before engaging in combat in order to boost his base damage to 3d6 instead of 2d6, so the monk/psywar isn't loosing much in terms of base damage over the monk anyway.

I though you might have been interested in the clear core-rules way of allowing a full attack after manifesting the power since nobody else had explained how it might be possible. (I wonder why it is hard-coded as 5r though? seems a bit strange but there you go)

I also think that the purpose of the "lasts 1 round" in the context of the power description is clear. You get one touch attack (period) and you cannot hold the charge. Dissolving touch and dissolving weapon should basically have the same effect and they made it clear with dissolving weapon.

Cheers

p.s., just a thought - you could get more damage with a Monk11/Psywar9 with overchannel.

His BAB routine on a full attack is +14/+14/+14/+8, and if he overchanneled (taking 3d8 damage against a previous vigour) so that he is treated as manifester level 11, he could use 11pp to manifest a delayed (2pp) fully augmented dissolving touch for +7d6 damage on each attack
 

Scion said:
Does your charge from cure light wounds last for a full round? Does it sit there on your hand pulsing until 6 seconds have lapsed after its first use?

No, it lasts indefinitely until you touch someone. Kind of like dissolving touch would, if they hadn't specified that it fades after one round. :)
 

Plane Sailing said:
We disagree then. I think that a 2nd level power for 3pp which would allow a character to do a potential additional 20d6 damage (off hand weapon restriction noted) against anyone not protected by acid resistance - which will be most foes - is too powerful.

But a chill touch spell (level 1) can get 20d6 typless damage which also might deal up to 20 points of str damage (since this can crit it is actually up to a potential 40 points of str damage, but I digress ;) ) and it can be over a number of attacks all day long.

Why is one ok but not the other?

Plane Sailing said:
I also think that the purpose of the "lasts 1 round" in the context of the power description is clear. You get one touch attack (period) and you cannot hold the charge.

I definately dont see any reason for the charge not to be held. One round after 'use' does not strike me the same as one round after 'manifestation'.

Plane Sailing said:
Dissolving touch and dissolving weapon should basically have the same effect and they made it clear with dissolving weapon.

But, you most definately 'can' store the charge with dissolving weapon.

Plane Sailing said:
he could use 11pp to manifest a delayed (2pp) fully augmented dissolving touch for +7d6 damage on each attack

Then we are talking about a 6th level power. Harm will deal up to 150 points of damage straight up with no type (there is a save of course, but then it is for half and you have to actually hit with the claws for the psychic warrior).

Say 5 attacks, all hit, avg extra acid damage is 122.5. For the cost of a 6th level power (and, in your example, dealing 13.5 damage to yourself which might come out of a vigor, but it is still damage dealt to yourself) this is nice and probably right along the proper path.

150 (save for half) for a single 6th level touch spell which can be held indefinately or (with 5 successful hits in a single round, unlikely) around 122.5 acid damage in chunks (important for resistance).

That example seems even 'less' abusive ;)
 

Piratecat said:
No, it lasts indefinitely until you touch someone. Kind of like dissolving touch would, if they hadn't specified that it fades after one round. :)

1 round after use, not one round after manifestation ;)

What is it doing for that round where it hasnt faded yet?
 

Remove ads

Top