Monk supernatural abilities and others

Hellefire

Explorer
Monks get abundant step (dmiension door ability) and the ability to go ethereal. Both of these state 'as if...' refering to the specific spells. Both spells allow for bringing other characters or gear along. Is this allowed for the monk? Or can the monk only bring himself and his normal gear? Does being heavily loaded interfere with these abilities?

Thanks!
Aaron
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Hm, you may be right. I'm just not entirely sure the monk can bring other people with him. Still a level before the monk in my game gets dimension door, so I ahve a bit to think about it.

Aaron
 

Excellent question.

I'd say yes. The only reason one could argue no is that you should only use the spell's description when referenced "as if using" or "as though using". However, the immediately brings up the problem of what range does the ability have. Abundant Step lists a CL such that we can use the range and any other pertinent parts, like targets.
 

Abundant Step: "...a monk can slip magically between spaces, as if using the spell dimension door, once per day. Her caster level for this effect is one-half her monk level (rounded down). "

"...a monk can slip magically between spaces" A monk. Not a monk plus any companions.

But

"...as if using the spell dimension door..."

Dimension Door allows you to take others with you, within limits.

Empty Body: "...a monk gains the ability to assume an ethereal state for 1 round per monk level per day, as though using the spell etherealness..."

Again there is a reference to "a monk" and to "as if" using the spell which, on seem to contradict each other.

I think the intent is that these abilities are personal only and the spell tells you how it works - for anything not in the monk description itself.

However, given the way it is written, I could see a generous interpretation allowing the monk to use the spell targeting information.

The way I would play it is:

"...can the monk only bring himself and his normal gear?"

Yes.

"Does being heavily loaded interfere with these abilities?"

No. The restriction is limited to "When wearing armor, using a shield, or carrying a medium or heavy load, a monk loses her AC bonus, as well as her fast movement and flurry of blows abilities."
 

Artoomis said:
"...a monk can slip magically between spaces" A monk. Not a monk plus any companions.
But then if you want to be that pedantic, it says "a monk." Not a monk plus his/her gear. So, either you can bring others (note the much lower CL) or you can't take your gear with you. Pick one. :p
 
Last edited:

Hm, interesting points and counterpoints, and exactly the things I was thinking about. Has anybody encountered this in play and ruled one way or the other?

I think I am leaning toward allowing the monk to bring others, as long as they are in contact. I am using my minds eye theater here, and watching japanimation/anime ninjas grabbing other people and taking them also.

But, if anyone has run into this in play, please let me know.

Aaron
 

Infiniti2000 said:
However, the immediately brings up the problem of what range does the ability have. Abundant Step lists a CL such that we can use the range and any other pertinent parts, like targets.
From the SRD:
Unless otherwise noted, a supernatural ability has an effective caster level equal to the creature’s Hit Dice.
 

Well, i'm playing a monk in our ongoing campaign and D&D playing. To start of with, our DM is very lenient and focus on RP and fun rather than on the PERFECT interpretation of the rule. Ok, i have taken people with my when using abundant step. I have rescued nearly dead team members from combat and so on.

A little bit more crazy is i once took a vampire outside into the sun from a cave. Made a succesful grapple check and took the fooker out into the sun :) Was a fun experience. But due to me being inclined to use abundant step for alot of things my DM is inclined to grab me (fighting huge oppenent and then grab me directly) thus forcing me to use my ability for the day or be used as a club to pound my fellow party members :)

Anyway, thats how i use it and its allowed by my DM. Hope it helps
 
Last edited:

I think I'm going to allow it for friends, but since the spell states 'willing targets' I don't think I would allow it for the vampire.

Aaron
 

Remove ads

Top