Monks and Magic Fang

mikebr99 said:
here is the wording:Flurry of Blows seems to be the same mechanic as the Bladesinger's:Which most definitely is only using one weapon.

You didn't read it very closely then.

This section in particular
If armed with two such weapons, she uses one for the
regular attack (or attacks) and the other for the extra attack.

I believe this is also intended to apply to flurry of blows when using a single monk weapon (you either make the regular attacks with the weapon and the extra attack unarmed, or the regular attacks unarmed and the extra attack with the weapon), and I believe it also applies to regular unarmed attacks.

I believe that flurry of blows is simply and upgraded version of TWF/Ambidexterity. Your normal attack routine can be made with one or more limbs (your choice), but the extra attack from the flurry is outside of your normal attack sequence and comes from a different limb.

I have said more than once that this it is vague and poorly worded, so there is room to interpret it differently. I just think this reading of it makes the most sense, and doesn't contradict with any part of the text.

And the bladesinger ability is irrelevent, it's not a core class and how a prestige class ability works has nothing to do with how another classes ability works. Many prestige classes have similar mechanics that work in different ways.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Caliban said:
I have said more than once that this it is vague and poorly worded, so there is room to interpret it differently. I just think this reading of it makes the most sense, and doesn't contradict with any part of the text.

And the bladesinger ability is irrelevent, it's not a core class and how a prestige class ability works has nothing to do with how another classes ability works. Many prestige classes have similar mechanics that work in different ways.
My point is that off the top of my head, there are 3 ways for characters to get extra attacks during their turn (excluding haste, Expert tactician etc.).
1)Flurry of Blows (Core Class ability).
2)Song of Fury (PrC Ability).
3)Rapid Shot (feat).

All give an extra attack, when using the full attack action and each suffers a -2 attack penalty to all attacks until the start of the next round.

I am just saying that they seem to be similar... and 2 out of the 3 examples are with one weapon. So, maybe... Flurry could be used by the one-armed monk?
 

mikebr99 said:
My point is that off the top of my head, there are 3 ways for characters to get extra attacks during their turn (excluding haste, Expert tactician etc.).
1)Flurry of Blows (Core Class ability).
2)Song of Fury (PrC Ability).
3)Rapid Shot (feat).

You left out TWF/Ambidexterity and Improved Two Weapon fighting.

All give an extra attack, when using the full attack action and each suffers a -2 attack penalty to all attacks until the start of the next round.

So does TWF fighting, and the monk does have to use TWF rules when using a non-monk weapons, and definitely has to use two weapons to make the extra attack from flurry of blows when wielding two monk weapons.

I am just saying that they seem to be similar... and 2 out of the 3 examples are with one weapon. So, maybe... Flurry could be used by the one-armed monk?

I'm just saying that it is more similar to TWF/Ambidexterity than any other ability.

And of course flurry could be used by a one-armed monk. The extra attack would be a kick or head butt.
 

So......

So what Im getting from this and the rules being stated is that in fact Magic Fang can be used by a monk with but a single application.

When using the Flurry of Blows ability Magic Fang would apply to all but the extra attack thats supposedly being made with an off hand.

Is that right?

I, personally see FoB as more of a Rapid Shot than TWF/Amb but it doesnt really matter. As for the extra attack being made with an off hand/weapon, I would rule against that, just as a house rule. If a monk has a weapon that does an extra D6 of damage and is forced to use their off had they loose the extra D6 as where the archer using Rapid Shot doesnt loose anything but the initial -2 to hit.

anyway, is this resolved now?
 
Last edited:

For what it is worth...

That's the response I got from WotC's customer support....

It can affect all of your normal attacks, but not your extra attack granted by your flurry of blows.

Makes sense to me even if it is disputable according to the letter of the spell.
 

Remove ads

Top