Garnfellow
Explorer
SRD said:Sometimes a creature can cast arcane or divine spells just as a member of a spellcasting class can (and can activate magic items accordingly). . . . A spellcasting creature is not actually a member of a class unless its entry says so, and it does not gain any class abilities.
As I have always understood it, if such a creature took levels in the same class as which it casts spells, those class levels stack with its innate spellcasting ability. A nymph, for example, casts divine spells as a 7th-level druid. If she takes 3 levels of druid, those levels stack with her spells ability. So a nymph druid 3 casts spells as a 10th-level druid.
But when I checked the SRD to confirm my understanding, the only thing I could find is this oblique statement under “Improving Monsters”:
SRD said:A spellcasting class is an associated class for a creature that already has the ability to cast spells as a character of the class in question, since the monster’s levels in the spellcasting class stack with its innate spellcasting ability.
Is this rule about spellcasting levels stacking stated more clearly or directly anywhere else in the SRD?


