Liquidsabre
Explorer
Hypersmurf said:Not necessarily. Most abilities in 3.5 that allow that don't say "you can wield a two-handed weapon in one hand"; they say "you can wield it as if it were a one-handed weapon". And a one-handed weapon only gets 2-for-1 if you wield it in two hands.
For example, an Ogre wielding a Medium greatsword in one hand doesn't get 2-for-1 PA; to him, the Medium greatsword is a one-handed weapon.
The mounted lance, on the other hand, is a two-handed weapon that happens to be wielded in one hand. It's completely different to the Ogre example.
-Hyp.
Wow, that's a real stretch there if I've ever seen one. While mounted, you can wield a lance in one-hand. A character then wields the lance as a one-handed weapon. To wield as a 2-H weapon they must use 2 hands.
With a special feat a 2-handed weapon is wielded in one-hand, so this 2-H weapon happens to be wielded in one hand. Sorry Hyp, that argument just doesn't fly, too much of an exception just for the lance, which already deals double damage on a charge. That would give a power attacker a x4 power attack bonus, any DM would be nuts to apply this kind of house rule to the lance for core play.