On your turn you only have one move, which is what the rules refer to as "your move". It is defined here as moving "a distance up to your speed". That doesn't mean, however, that moving any distance less than your speed counts as your move, unless that's all the movement you take on your turn.
But there is no rule supporting this.
You *start* with only one move, but then you can "break it up"... and you move 10'.... then you move 15'. There is nothing in the rules saying that those two moves are really just one move....
While you quote "your move"... the movement rules *never* use such a term, and they certainly don't define it as you describe.
The rules refer to making two moves, as 'move 10' and as 'move 15'... they never say "the first part of your move' or 'the first half of your move' etc. They expressly state that you can "move", "attack", "move".....
Move and movement are used interchangeably to refer to the movement portion of your turn. That's what your move is. It's like chess. We do not say the knight has two moves because it moves two squares in one direction, turns 90 degrees, and then moves another square. That's its move.
I agree.... but the knight also can't move, cast a spell, make an attack, talk a bit, and then move again.
No matter how many modes of movement you are using you don't end up with more than one move. They are each a "part of your move".
I have shown where they refer to two separate 'moves' during a turn... can you please point out anywhere where it says you don't have more than one move? Can you point out anywhere that when they say "move" and "move" they really mean "part of move" and "part of move"?
Breaking up your movement is breaking up your move. You can see by the title of this section that your move is the thing that is being broken up. When it is, it is not broken up into more moves. It is broken up into parts of your move.
Again, we get that you keep saying this... but can you provide anything in the rules that supports your claim? Anything that refers to "part of your move" do something "part of your move"?
If running, then jumping, then swimming results in only one move, then surely walking 30 feet while taking an action is still only one move.
Running, jumping, swimming are all *movement*... so it is all the same move. If you Run, cast a spell, jump, make an attack, swim... then it is 3 different moves.
Nowhere in these rules does it say that by breaking up your movement you are ending up with more than one move. The rules only ever talk about one move, and that's the movement you can take on your turn.
It says it repeatedly. I says you "Move 10', then you attack, then you "move 15'"... that is two different moves. It never says they are 'part' of a move.
You have a total movement equal to a multiple of your speed.... you can move up to your allowed movement.... if you stop you can move again, up to your remaining movement.