Mr. Roper's Neighborhood

andargor

Rule Lawyer Groupie
Supporter
We had interesting encounters last night with a bunch of Ropers. ("Interesting" in the sense of the Chinese proverb)

We however have some rule questions about them:

- The strands they shoot are described as: "A strand has 10 hit points and can be attacked by making a successful sunder attempt". Does this mean that only a sunder attempt can be used to cut them? Normal attacks cannot be used to cut them? Would an area of effect spell, such as Fireball burn all the strands in its target area?

- Does the Weakness (Ex) ability kick in immediately upon a strand hitting a target, or does this require an action by the Roper? Is it a standard action? Is the strength damage per round the target is stuck, or only when first hit?

- When a target is hit by a strand, are they still able to cast or make melee attacks (assuming their strength was not reduced to 0)? We ruled that a strand "sticks" to the target, but at least one hand is free.

Thanks in advance,

Andargor
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Don't have my books with me, but here's my take:

1) Must be a sunder attempt, not normal attacks. If the tentacles were in the area of effect and the roper itself wasn't, then I would still have it take damage but the spell would not harm the tentacles separately.

2) It kicks in as soon as the strand hits (no separate action), and the damage is only in the first round that it hits.

3) Yes, a target can attack normally with melee or ranged weapons. A spell would need a concentration check for successful casting (DC 15 + spell level).
 

Sounds like a fun encounter. Fun in the "Army Rangers in Somalia" sort of way.

shilsen said:
1) Must be a sunder attempt, not normal attacks. If the tentacles were in the area of effect and the roper itself wasn't, then I would still have it take damage but the spell would not harm the tentacles separately.
Think of it this way: those strands are actually weapons (or objects) that the Roper weilds. To attack them, you must make a sunder attempt. To damage them with a spell, the creature has to fail the save and roll a natural 1. (See the text in the PH Magic Chapter, Items surviving after a saving throw).

shilsen said:
3) Yes, a target can attack normally with melee or ranged weapons. A spell would need a concentration check for successful casting (DC 15 + spell level).
IOW, the strand sticks to its target, but does not "wrap around it" or "hog tie it".
 

Thanks for your help. I guess the only thing we have to figure out is if we require a concentration check if stuck. I couldn't find any mention of this in the Roper description or elsewhere. We'll see :)

Andargor
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top