Multiattack


log in or register to remove this ad

Heck, if a Monk is allowed (by the FAQ) to take Ability Focus and Improved Natural Attack feats from the Monster Manual, why couldn't a Druid take some relevant feats. Of course, it would only be usable in forms that have 3 or more natural attacks.....

Or are you talking about taking the feat without having the prerequsite 3 or more natural attacks? (I'm not reading your question clearly enough). If so, then I would say no (even though there is a precedent set by animal companions gaining the Multiattack feat regardless of having only only one attack form, eg wolf).
 

kmdietri said:
Can a druid who can wildshape (but doesn't have 3 or more natural attacks on its own) take the multiattack feat?
Yes.

He has to be in 3 natural attacks to take the feat, but with wildshape he can have three natural attack (pretty much) any time he wants, including when he levels.

Of course, as soon as his wildshape ends, he loses the pre-req and can't use the feat until he wildshapes again (or meets it some other way).


glass.
 

Legildur said:
Heck, if a Monk is allowed (by the FAQ) to take Ability Focus and Improved Natural Attack feats from the Monster Manual, why couldn't a Druid take some relevant feats. Of course, it would only be usable in forms that have 3 or more natural attacks.....

Or are you talking about taking the feat without having the prerequsite 3 or more natural attacks? (I'm not reading your question clearly enough). If so, then I would say no (even though there is a precedent set by animal companions gaining the Multiattack feat regardless of having only only one attack form, eg wolf).
Animal companions only gain multiattack if they have 3 or more natural attacks, otherwise the gain another ability. But even if they did, bonus feats are often not subject to prereqs.

But in any case, their are two circumstances in which you have to meet the pre-reqs of a feat: 1. When you select it. 2. When you want to use it. Wildshape can take care of both of those, so the druid can take the feat.


glass.
 

glass said:
Animal companions only gain multiattack if they have 3 or more natural attacks, otherwise the gain another ability. But even if they did, bonus feats are often not subject to prereqs. <snip>
From the 3.5e SRD (my emphasis in bold):

Multiattack: An animal companion gains Multiattack as a bonus feat if it has three or more natural attacks and does not already have that feat. If it does not have the requisite three or more natural attacks, the animal companion instead gains a second attack with its primary natural weapon, albeit at a –5 penalty.
 

Legildur said:
glass said:
Animal companions only gain multiattack if they have 3 or more natural attacks, otherwise the gain another ability. But even if they did, bonus feats are often not subject to prereqs. <snip>
From the 3.5e SRD (my emphasis in bold):
Multiattack: An animal companion gains Multiattack as a bonus feat if it has three or more natural attacks and does not already have that feat.If it does not have the requisite three or more natural attacks, the animal companion instead gains a second attack with its primary natural weapon, albeit at a –5 penalty.
Like I said, if you have three or more natural attacks, you get multiattack as a bonus feat. Otherwise you get another ability. What was your point exactly? :confused:


glass.
 

glass said:
Make that a "no" and I agree.

glass said:
He has to be in 3 natural attacks to take the feat, but with wildshape he can have three natural attack (pretty much) any time he wants, including when he levels.
There's no definition of when, exactly, you level, so your assertion here is not legitimate. At best, it's an interpretation not definitively negated by the rules. At worst, it allows for anyone to take multiattack as long as they can polymorph or eventually polymorph (at some point in their lifetime) into a creature with 3 natural attacks.
 

glass said:
Like I said, if you have three or more natural attacks, you get multiattack as a bonus feat. Otherwise you get another ability. What was your point exactly?
Sorry, I thought that might have been what you were saying on my second reading, but I wasn't sure, so decided to seek clarification (admittedly in a roundabout sort of way).
 

Infiniti2000 said:
Make that a "no" and I agree.
No, it's definately a 'yes'.

There's no definition of when, exactly, you level, so your assertion here is not legitimate.
It's exactly because there's not a definition of when you level that it is legitimate. Absent of any restrictions to the contrary, you can level when you like (once you have the XP), including while you are in wildshape.

At best, it's an interpretation not definitively negated by the rules. At worst, it allows for anyone to take multiattack as long as they can polymorph or eventually polymorph (at some point in their lifetime) into a creature with 3 natural attacks.
No, as long as they can polymorph, not if they might be able to. You have to be polymorphed (or wildshaped, or whatever) when you elect to level up, not at some nebulous future date.


glass.
 

glass said:
No, it's definately a 'yes'.
Yes, it's definitely a 'no'. Two can play at this game. :p

glass said:
It's exactly because there's not a definition of when you level that it is legitimate. Absent of any restrictions to the contrary, you can level when you like (once you have the XP), including while you are in wildshape.
Not true. You are not just making an assumption about when to level, but how long it takes and the process in which it is done. All these assumptions are not legitimate and any definitive statement on them is insubstantial at best.

glass said:
No, as long as they can polymorph, not if they might be able to. You have to be polymorphed (or wildshaped, or whatever) when you elect to level up, not at some nebulous future date.
This is answered above.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top