Dimwhit said:
For one, how is Fox's Cunning a natural part of the creature.
Not the
Fox's Cunning, the natural weapons. INA requires you to have natural weapons as a part of your being, not as bestowed by a temporary supernatural ability.
Second, there's no such thing as a temporary supernatural ability, just a SA with a duration.
I fail to see the distinction. If a supernatural ability has a beginning and an end, then by definition it is temporary.
The ability is permanent and cannot be lost or taking away (short of violating a Druid's oath--but that's a whole different beast).
Or walking into an
Antimagic Field. I suppose the druid had better hold off on leveling up until he gets out of the
field, then.
glass said:
But, we aren't debating what ruling is best for versimiltude, we're debating which is RAW, so what type of 'world' you want to play in is irrelevant. In certain types of games, introducing a houserule for versimilitude might be a fine idea, but that has no bearing on what the RAW say.
A fair point. Can you provide a quote which supports your assertion that leveling is a known in-game event (for which PCs can prepare by using buffs/special abilities)? Or that a PC need merely have the ability to temporarily acquire a prerequisite to gain a feat? If so, it would go a long way to proving your point. Otherwise, your debate is founded on personal playstyle as much as mine is.
Well, except for the fact that I
am basing my ruling on a bit of text.
srd said:
Some feats have prerequisites. Your character must have the indicated ability score, class feature, feat, skill, base attack bonus, or other quality designated in order to select or use that feat.
There was a spell in the Spellbook feature on the WotC site a while back, that allowed a wizard to temporarily gain a feat, merely by observing someone else who had it. Would this allow a wizard with this spell in his spellbook to treat
any feat prerequisite as fulfilled, for the purposes of selecting feats? He has, after all, the capacity to temporarily gain any feat he needs.
I rule no. He may be using the prerequisite feat, but it isn't
his feat. Likewise, a druid
wildshaped into a tiger may be using three natural weapons, but they aren't
his. He doesn't actually have three natural weapons (unless, again, he's an awakened tiger druid), and therefore, clear as day, he can't take Multiattack.