Artoomis
First Post
kreynolds said:
Which one?![]()
This one, where he corrects himself:
Absolutely. So there's a caveat that once you invoke a 5-step, you're done doing any moves, though you can still do MEA's.
GReg
kreynolds said:
Which one?![]()
Absolutely. So there's a caveat that once you invoke a 5-step, you're done doing any moves, though you can still do MEA's.
GReg
Artoomis said:
This one, where he corrects himself:
If you take a second five-foot step as you say, then NEITHER one was a five-foot step, but BOTH were, in fact, 5 feet of regular movement, which mean you made two moves. It certainly is possible to move only 5 feet, take an action, and then move 5 feet as your partial move from haste, if that's what you want to do.Zhure said:
It wasn't a correction, it was an obvious expansion. My prior statement was just as true then as it is now.
"So if for some reason you take a second 5-foot step, like if you were hasted, this second 5-foot step wouldn't be a protected one because it wouldn't be "your entire move for the round."
Obviously the first five-foot step would no longer be protected either. It seemed so obvious it wasn't worth mentioning until I was told it was incorrect... so I thought it best to elaborate.
Greg
Zhure said:I think you're reading too much into my example.
I am saying fish swim in water.
You're saying penguins swim in water and aren't fish.
I never said penguins were fish.
You keep pointing out that penguins swim.
Greg
Zhure said:
It wasn't a correction, it was an obvious expansion. My prior statement was just as true then as it is now.
"So if for some reason you take a second 5-foot step, like if you were hasted, this second 5-foot step wouldn't be a protected one because it wouldn't be "your entire move for the round."
Obviously the first five-foot step would no longer be protected either. It seemed so obvious it wasn't worth mentioning until I was told it was incorrect... so I thought it best to elaborate.
Greg
Artoomis said:
More to the point, the first step would not be a special "5-foot step" at all, it would be 5 feet of normal movement, as would the second 5 feet of movement.
Better? Or do you disagree with that?
Zhure said:
Of course, the first "5-ft step" would no longer qualify as a 5-ft step either because of the rule I cited from page 117.
Greg
No, that's wrong. You only avoid an AoO if the only move you make in a round is your 5-foot step. If that's all you do, then you are not using a Move action at all.