Multiple double weapons - possible?

Lorimo

First Post
Hi there!
I'm already posted this question on official WotC board, but may be you, guys, can help me too. Or even better :)

Intro:
Someone got a character - thri-kreen. In MM2 (and Savage Species) written that he can dualwield 2 gythkas at once "because of four arms". Sword&Fist, however (in the Extra Limbs section) states that NOONE can dualwield two double weapons, regardless of their arms.

Question:

1) Where rules for dualwielding (and may be multiwielding) for double weapons stated?

2) If situation in example is possible (and it IS possible - it written!) - where stated rules for penalties?.

//I hope text above is still readable - my English is $%^&
(you know what i mean :) )

Tnanx in advance.

P.S. Is there email address of WotC "rules support" exists?
 

log in or register to remove this ad


A thri-kreen who has Multiweapon Fighting and Multidexterity only has a -2 penalty to each attack. The rules for double weapons says:
from SRD
Double Weapons
A character can use a double weapon to make an extra attack as if the character were fighting with two weapons. The penalties apply as if the off-hand weapon were light. If the character does not elect to take the extra attack, the character is not penalized for fighting with two weapons.
.

Because you still have only one main weapon, all the other heads are considered off-hand and, therefore, light.
 

KaeYoss said:
Why shouldn't he? He's got 4 arms, needs 2 for a double weapon each, and that should mean you can use two of the buggers.

Because they get in each other's way. Speaking as someone who's done a little bit of training with a bo, if I had an extra pair of arms weilding another staff I wouldn't have been able to do half of the things that use of the weapon requires.

J
 

Sword and Fist, as he points out, specifically states that someone with four arms can use two two-handed weapons - one in both left hands, one in both right hands - but not two double-weapons, because they have to be held cross-body and thus get in each others' way.

-Hyp.
 

Because you still have only one main weapon, all the other heads are considered off-hand and, therefore, light.
No way! For double weapons only one end of the weapon considered "light". Another one - just "one-handed".

And imagine a creature with 8 or more hands (may be even thri-kreen Fang of Lolth :/ ) with lots of double weapons. I can't understand the fighting technique of such monster.
 


Reminds me of the three handed greatsword (used by humans with two arms and one foot hopping on the second). Laughing damage to anyone with line of sight 1d8/round.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top