Multiple Resist Energies

Jimlock, are you asking me to list every exception to "usually" in that rule?

No, Greenfield... this is not what I am asking.

If you want to re-read the question, re-read my previous post....

Without any intention of sounding rude as well, I believe you are simply avoiding the question.

If you feel like answering, then answer. If not... well as you said, lets call it a day.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Okay, sorry if it seems like I dodged.

How do we decide when an exception happens: When the rules say so, such as spell or item descriptions that include such exceptions. For example a Hammer of Thunderbolts includes the exception that, when used with both a Girdle of Giant Strength and Gauntlets of Strength, the power of those two items will stack.

How do we decide when spells trump: Well, I'm not arguing about "trumping" effects. Clearly effects that contradict each other or can't logically co-exist won't co-exist. They hardly needed to write a rule to say that you can't be a lion and a snail at the same time. If you're asking when one spell effect from the same spell suppresses another, the answer is "Pretty much all the time". As in, unless there is a specific exception noted in the spell descriptor, the later casting suppresses the earlier one.

What do we base that decision on? The rules. If a spell, item, or spell-like ability says in the descriptor that it's an exception to the "no stacking" rule, then it is.

Does RAW provide an answer to that question? Yes. See above.

There are some effects that, if granted by different powers/spells/items will stack, even if the effects are similar. Anything granting a Dodge bonus to AC, for example. You can't stack two Haste spells, for example, because the bonus comes from the same spell, but you can add the Dodge bonus a Haste grants to a Dodge bonus from any other source. That's explicitly stated in the stacking rules. Same for "unnamed" bonuses. They stack as high as you like, so long as they aren't coming from repeated castings of the same spell.

Morale bonuses, however, don't stack, whether they come from a spell or a Bard's song. They aren't listed as exceptions, after all.

Is that any better?
 

So are you saying you cannot efectively wear a ring of fire resistance and a ring of cold resistance because they don't stack? This seems counterintuitive to me and is not how I read RAW...

They're fine. Although you use a spell to create them, they are not, themselves, spells, and therefore work just fine.

If, on the other hand, you had a Resist Energy stored in a ring of spellstoring, or in a wand, and tried to cast it on yourself while you already had a Resist Energy running, you would fall under the "Same Effect with Differing Results" rule.
 

As an example of items that don't work like the spells: You can stack Shield with Mage Armor, but not with Bracers of Armor, even though the Bracers are based on the same spell.

Can you explain this one?

Shield provides a shield bonus to AC (and protection from magic missile), and Mage Armor and Bracers of Armor both provide Armor bonuses to AC, so Shield should stack fine with either.
 

The gist of the argument was that there are exceptions to some rules noted in spell, power or item descriptions, with the sub-text that items don't always function exactly like the spells they're based on.

So my explanation? Well, my example of an item/spell combination that worked differently from the two-spell combination was exactly that.

So I'm not sure what you're asking.
 

So my explanation? Well, my example of an item/spell combination that worked differently from the two-spell combination was exactly that.

Except that the Shield spell stacks with Mage Armor in exactly the same way that it stacks with Bracers of Armor - very well, in both cases!

Mage Armor spell + Shield spell = +4 Armor and +4 Shield to AC, immunity to MM

BoA +4 + Shield spell = +4 Armor and +4 Shield to AC, immunity to MM

So I don't understand the point you're trying to make.
 

Is that any better?

No :)

why?

SRD:
Attack
Making an attack is a standard action.


I don't see them saying:

Attack
Usually, making an attack is a standard action.


Just because an AoO is an attack but not a standard action.

SRD
Attack Rolls
An attack roll represents your attempts to strike your opponent.


I don't see them saying:


Attack Rolls
Usually, an attack roll represents your attempts to strike your opponent.


Just because you can also make an attack roll so as to "grapple" your opponent.
 

Jimlock, you're complaining that they don't say "usually" in more places? And that's your argument?

So far you've invoked the irrelevant, used circular reasoning (and apparently been pleased with yourself for doing so), made leaps of logic that run contrary to the rules, and now you're saying that the publisher's inconsistent use of "usually" means that you can create exceptions any time or place you find the rules are inconvenient?

I find that I can't fault your reasoning (mainly because I can't find it).

Returning to a previous thought: Yes, I'm calling it a day.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top