Musical raging bard?

Cygnus said:
If one makes the arguement that a die must be rolled for a skill to be used, I present the following—

A roll of a one is not an automatic failure for a skill check. The DC to tumble through an enemy-occupied square is 25. If the character has a +26 tumble modifier, is there a need for a roll? No, it would be silly because the minimum possible check result would be 27. Is this mentioned in the skill descriptions? No, it is obvious. Are you still using the tumble skill? Yes. Did you roll a die? No.

I am not convinced that this is a valid argument Cygnus. the "no need for a roll" is different to "there is no roll" to do something.

No need to roll: the modifyers are greater than the DC in this situation thus i can't fail this time but could in other situations. (You still should be rolling, but you do not need to look at the result because you succeeded whatever the die comes up.)

There is no roll: I can't fail in any situation where i am allowed to do the action. (i don't roll at all, i succeed)

I'm not talking about whether the action is effective (the silence you mentioned in another post) but whether it can be attempted at all.

To get back to the original Q, by RAW i beleive that the bard can do both at once, but i have a few conceptual problems with this (especially with using a musical instrament aid the bardic music during rage) so that would have to be a house ruling.

Dross
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Dross because i believe you missed it this thread is over. Hyp has already won with his brilliant argument. YAY hyp.

and the result is
Barbarian/Bards can rage and use bardic music.

EDIT: By the way hyp do you have stats for that char?
 

IanB said:
Note also that some bardic music abilities do call for a Perform check or for concentration. The fact that inspire courage does not contain any wording to this effect is another piece of evidence in favor of allowing it, I think.

Right. Countersong, Fascinate (and hence Suggestion and Mass Suggestion), Inspire Competence, and Song of Freedom certainly can't be used while Raging.

Inspire Courage, Inspire Greatness, and Inspire Heroics all look fine.

-Hyp.
 


The barbarian/bard (i.e., the Norse skald) is a perfectly valid combination which is even suggested in Unearthed Arcana to be used with the savage bard variant. I certainly allow it.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top