D&D 5E My players just drew from the Deck of Many Things - and Holy Crap!

Long ago where the Wizards boards were a thing, I and another poster developed a 4e version of the DoMT that didn't eat the campaign. Sadly, I don't seem to have it in my records anymore and it doesn't seem to be archived anywhere.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Reminds me of the Seinfeld finale.


Shouldnt the Donjon card have disappeared after Player 1 drew it, so it wouldnt be available for Players 2 & 3 to draw? Same with the Devil card right?
The 5e deck, each card returns to the deck, specifically allowing for multiple draws of the same card. Only the jester and fool are removed
 

The 5e deck, each card returns to the deck, specifically allowing for multiple draws of the same card. Only the jester and fool are removed
Pg 162 of the DMG reads:

“Once a card is drawn, it fades from existence. Unless the card is the Fool or the jester, the card reappears in the deck, making it possible to draw the same card twice”.

Is there errata stating otherwise, or as with most things in 5E, is it stated elsewhere in the DMG that the cards return to the deck?
 

Pg 162 of the DMG reads:

“Once a card is drawn, it fades from existence. Unless the card is the Fool or the jester, the card reappears in the deck, making it possible to draw the same card twice”.

Is there errata stating otherwise, or as with most things in 5E, is it stated elsewhere in the DMG that the cards return to the deck?
I think it's the somewhat confusing text of "fading from existence" and "reappears in the deck." If it "fades from existence," my first inclination would be to say that it no longer exists and thus cannot be drawn again. But then the next sentence says that it reappears. It's sloppy, imprecise writing.

I was just telling my group about one of my first D&D experiences when I was in middle school and our high schooler DM gave us a Deck of Many Things in a one-shot adventure. It went completely haywire. Good laughs at a one-shot for kids; however, I would never use this as a part of an ongoing campaign.
 


I think it's the somewhat confusing text of "fading from existence" and "reappears in the deck." If it "fades from existence," my first inclination would be to say that it no longer exists and thus cannot be drawn again. But then the next sentence says that it reappears. It's sloppy, imprecise writing.

I was just telling my group about one of my first D&D experiences when I was in middle school and our high schooler DM gave us a Deck of Many Things in a one-shot adventure. It went completely haywire. Good laughs at a one-shot for kids; however, I would never use this as a part of an ongoing campaign.
I just used a DoMT not too long ago. I think I had the deck disappear after just a few draws so things didnt get out of hand. I must have read the 5E description then and thats why I thought the cards disappear after being drawn, and how I read the 5E description they do. But I agree the sentences are ambiguous and I can see the reasoning for the other interpretation that the cards are placed back in the deck. Heres my opinion on the whole thing. Seeing as in the cards reappeared in the deck from 1E-3.5E (we all know 4E doesnt count), but in 5E all of sudden its reversed? I think its just poor writing and poor design and they just didnt want to fix it. Why change something that wasnt broken?
 


Hiya!

Yup. Reminds me of the ultimate fate of "Bearkiller"...the highest level PC ever to have walked our 5e campaign. He was/is a 7th level Goliath Barbarian. He decided to draw four cards. The four cards he got: Flames, Talons, Donjon and The Void.

Everyone just sort of giggled, including the Player of Bearkiller. I mean...what are the chances? (No, seriously...anyone know the chances of drawing those four exact cards as the draws?)

To this day, Bearkiller is currently the play-thing of an arch-devil I haven't chosen yet; all four of those things...figured it was some Arch-Devil who REALLY took a disliking to him.

...

On the flip side, in 1e I did have a player draw: Fates, Sun, Moon and Throne. Oh, the PC was a Cavalier. Man...talk about silver platter! :)

^_^

Paul L. Ming
 


Pg 162 of the DMG reads:

“Once a card is drawn, it fades from existence. Unless the card is the Fool or the jester, the card reappears in the deck, making it possible to draw the same card twice”.

Is there errata stating otherwise, or as with most things in 5E, is it stated elsewhere in the DMG that the cards return to the deck?
I read this as the card vanishing and returning to the deck, "Unless the card is the Fool or the Jester"; either of those cards simply vanishes and does not return to the deck.
 

Remove ads

Top