Natural Attack + Monk

Caeleddin said:
Hyp - Unfortunately for you, both the FAQ and I also take it as to equate it with a full attack routine with the primary hand of a TWF fighter ;) Which means you can still do a series of off-hand attacks after that AND natural attacks :D

But as the FAQ even points out itself - the line appears in the description of the Unarmed Strike ability, not Flurry of Blows. It doesn't reference a full attack anywhere in that section.

What it does say is that for all her unarmed strikes, a monk can apply full Str bonus... which the FAQ directly contradicts when it states that a monk only applies half Str bonus when making an off-hand attack with an unarmed strike.

"All her unarmed strikes" and "All her unarmed strikes except for some of her unarmed strikes" are not the same thing.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It assumes you were not going to use TWF.


However, if you want to read it that way, that would mean that even when TWF-ing, the Monk gets full Str damage to his off-hand attacks.

Shall I start beating you around the head now with the nerfbat or wait a bit more as the hole gets deeper?
 

Caeleddin said:
However, if you want to read it that way, that would mean that even when TWF-ing, the Monk gets full Str damage to his off-hand attacks.

That's exactly my point.

(Except that you need to finish the line - he gets full Str damage to his off-hand attacks that do not exist, since there's no such thing for a monk striking unarmed.)

So it assumes you're not going to use TWF... so there's no such thing as an off-hand attack for a monk who is not making off-hand attacks?

-Hyp.
 

Pretty much, from what I understand from the chain of events (PHB -> FAQ clarification).

What it is saying is that you can be Flurrying, or doing the Crane or whatever, but you are not (in game terms) using your off-hand attacks. Thus, you can add your off-hand attacks to it (with the appropriate penalty) and then your natural attacks (again with the usual penalties) as per usual.

*shrugs*

Now you understand why I don't like Monks in my campaigns (well, other than the fact they tend to be set in a Nordic/European type of setting)?
 

Caeleddin said:
What it is saying is that you can be Flurrying, or doing the Crane or whatever, but you are not (in game terms) using your off-hand attacks. Thus, you can add your off-hand attacks to it (with the appropriate penalty) and then your natural attacks (again with the usual penalties) as per usual.

If I write a rule that states "There is no such thing as a potion of a spell with range Personal", do you assume that I mean "There is no such thing as a potion of a spell with range Personal, unless Personal is the range of a spell you choose to brew a potion of"?

-Hyp.
 

Wrong analogy. The phrase is not as black and white. There is room for interpretation. That is why it is even in the FAQ to begin with.


You chose to interprete the "no such" statement as "never". That is your choice.

I (and the FAQ) interprete is as something else.

You know which of the two I will follow and the reason for it.
 


That's your prerogative.


FAQ chose otherwise.

I have no problems with you choosing that. I would choose it too, if the FAQ didn't come up with a different interpretation (hence the House Rule nerfbat). I have problems with people choosing it, and then demanding that people listen to them only or they get snarky.
 



Remove ads

Top