Hypersmurf said:
The base damage is multiplied on the crit. The +1, +3, +2, and +4 (bonus damage not expressed as dice) are multiplied on the crit. The 1d6 (bonus damage expressed as dice) is not.
Thanks for the detailed examples.
Rules quotes:
[sblock]The SRD says:
"A critical hit means that you roll your damage more than once, with all your usual bonuses, and add the rolls together. ... Exception: Extra damage over and above a weapon’s normal damage is not multiplied when you score a critical hit." Which would seem to exclude smite damage.
It's been re-worded in the D&D glossary
"Critical hit damage is usually double damage, which means rolling damage twice, just as if the attacker had actually hit the defender two times. (Any extra damage dice, such as from a rogue's sneak attack, are not rolled multiple times, but are added to the total at the end of the calculation.)" Which would include smite because they actually used the words 'extra damage
dice'.
The PHB is a bit more clear in restating the above, even including weapon energy damage after SA, but it's all under multiplying, rather than criticals. It then refers to the critical hit sidebar, which is what appears in the SRD, posted above.
I think there's some ambiguity there, but I'll defer to Hyp.[/sblock]erc1971,
It sounds like your answers should be: No, No, Depends if it is dice or constants.
We'll have to assume this is built into the rules and the designers are policing themselves on whether extra damage is bonuses or dice.