NEGOCIOS INFERNALES: An Interview with Carlos Hernandez and C.S.E. Cooney

Widely published authors C.S.E. Cooney and Carlos Hernandez designed a card-based tabletop roleplaying game and story prompt.

Widely published authors C.S.E. Cooney and Carlos Hernandez designed a card-based tabletop roleplaying game and story prompt. Diceless and GM-less, these cards offer a new system and experience that I wanted to learn more about and the authors agreed to discuss.

NI6.jpg

EGG EMBRY (EGG): Thanks for talking with me. What is Negocios Infernales?
CARLOS HERNANDEZ (CARLOS)
: Negocios Infernales was my attempt to make my amazing wife Claire love roleplaying games.
C.S.E. COONEY (C.S.E.): TL;DR–it worked! I now LOVE roleplaying games! I am a dice goblin! I love playtesting new games and learning new systems. But in the beforetimes–“Ante-Infernales”--I thought roleplaying games sounded a lot like what I do for a living: write novels and narrate them. I’m an author—
CARLOS: —a World Fantasy Award winning writer! And twice-nominated for the World Fantasy in 2023!
C.S.E.: –LOL, Carlos–and I’m also an audiobook narrator. So a “role-playing game” didn’t actually sound like play. It sounded like work. (Worse: GROUP WORK. I hated that in school.) But the game that changed my mind about games was Negocios Infernales. It’s the RPG that taught me how to RPG.

EGG: Where did the idea behind Negocios Infernales come from?
CARLOS
: The idea was to keep all the things about RPGs that make them unique and awesome—specifically, all the mayhem and wild, hilarious situations they create—but remove the barriers of complicated rule sets and long prep times. One of Claire’s favorite games is Mysterium, in part because the cards that come with the game, in and of themselves, are beautiful and evocative. So what if, instead of dice, we made a custom deck of beautiful, evocative cards that we used both to quickly determine success or failure and to inspire the players?