D&D 5E New DM Question

starrk144

First Post
So I'm a first time DM and so far there havent been too many issues, except one. One of my players crams as much as he can into a combat turn as a rogue. I understand the rogue has the ability to disengage/hide/etc after a combat round but here is an example of what he did in one combat round. -he ran forward out of stealth -pulled a rope out -made a lasso -tied down the enemy -attacked the enemy -ran away and then re-stealthed can he do all that or would the lasso stuff replace the attack action?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The rogue's Cunning Action ( and thief's 'fast hands' use of it) is a 'Bonus Action. ' A character gets only 1 bonus action per round, on his turn. So he could re-hide at the end of his movement for the turn (if he was out of sight) as a bonus action, or Dash, or 'use an object' (like make a lasso, say), but only one in a given turn. Because, only one Bonus Action/round.

"Tied down the enemy" with a lasso is calling for a lot of interpretation on your part. It should probably be an action (and an attack roll), just to get the lasso around him. Then further actions on subsequent turns to grapple and tie him up.
 
Last edited:

It's up to you. By the Rules as Written (RAW), no he cannot. He has 1 Action, 1 Bonus Action, and 1 Object Interaction per round, plus movement (which is not an action type). The Rogue's benefit allows you to use one of those actions as a Bonus Action... not all 3. The listed example would be:

Move out of Stealth - no action (uses part of movement)
Pulled a rope out - object interaction
Make a lasso - arguable, but object interaction at a minimum (I would require an Action if I was the DM)
Tied down the enemy - Action (with a contested roll)
Attack - Action
Ran Away - Bonus Action, assuming he Disengages (he takes Attacks of Opportunity otherwise)
Stealth - Bonus Action
Dash (assuming he needed more than his normal movement) - Bonus Action

So he used (at least) 2 Actions, 2 Bonus Actions, and 2 Object Interactions. Basically he took 2 turns in a row. You might be more generous with Object Interactions (I tend to be), but the Action and Bonus Actions were definitely wrong.
 

I think you let him do a bit too much by the rules.

The rules allow for movement, action and bonus action. The movement you allowed seems ok - he can move do an action then move as long as he doesn't move more than his allotted distance. Pulling out a rope could be ruled as an incidental action so perhaps you can allow it (Some DMs might call that an action unless the rope was easy to reach, like hanging on his belt or something like that). He can also use his bonus action to hide again if he has cover or some kind of obscurement. Where you let him do too much is in the action department. He can either attack or tie up the enemy.
 

I might go so far as to say he took three turns in one.

Turn One
  • Pulling out a rope is a lot like drawing a weapon - you can do things like that it for free but you only one free one per turn.
  • Making a lasso, I would rule takes a whole action. It takes at least six seconds to tie the right kind of knot in a piece of rope and that's basically your action for the turn. You can't really give it as another free object interaction as that's already been used up for this turn.
  • That leaves the Cunning Action bonus action, which can only be used to Dash, Disengage or Hide. Depending on distances, he might use it for Dash otherwise it's lost.
Turn Two
  • If he is a long way from the enemy, he can use his Cunning Action for Dash to get close.
  • Tying down an enemy requires an opposed strength check and that's this turn's action.
  • He didn't Disengage or Hide, so unless he used it for Dash, his bonus action is wasted for this turn.
Turn Three
Assuming the attempt to tie up the enemy was successful,
  • Drawing a weapon is your free object interaction.
  • Using the weapon to make an attack requires the Attack Action.
  • There's no need to disengage if the enemy is incapacitated because it can't make opportunity attacks anyway
  • He can move away to a hiding place (he hasn't used any movement yet, this turn)
  • Then he can use his Cunning Action bonus action to attempt to Hide.

I'd recommend saying to your players something along the lines of "That sounds fun, but there's a lot going on around you too, so shall we play it out turn-by-turn?"
 

Remove ads

Top