# of spells in a 1st level Wizard's Book

buchw001

First Post
So the PHB is slightly confusing in its wording here.

(page 54)
A wizard begins play with a spellbook containing all 0-level wizard spells, plus three 1st-level spells of the player's choice. For each point of Intelligence bonus the wizard has, the spell book holds one additional 1st-level spell.

I have always believed that the word "holds" implies the character can choose those extra 1st-level spells.

EXAMPLE: If the INT score is 16, the the wizard will choose 3+3=6 1st-level spells for the book to begin play.

Has anyone ever ruled this differently? The word "holds" came into question with my group the other day.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

You are correct.

The word "Hold" in this case means contains.

a 1st lvl wizard with Int 16 would have 6 first lvl spells in his/her spell book.
 

No. 'Hold' can be used to mean 'is able to contain' or 'actually contains'; but there's nothing in the description of the class that implies the former meaning. Also, the size of a spellbook is standardized at 100 pages, meaning it can hold all of the core zero-level spells and 42 1st-level spells, regardless of the owner's intelligence. It seems clear that the intent of the class feature is that the character owns a standard spellbook which contains 3+Int bonus 1st level spells therein.
 

Remove ads

Top