Opportunity Attacks

Note that if an enemy is adjacent to the fighter and marked, and it makes a ranged attack that does not include the fighter, the fighter gets an OA AND a combat challenge attack!
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Combat Challenge and Combat Superiority do not combine as Combat Challenge is not an OA it is specifically a "Melee Basic Attack". Feats that add to OA do not improve CC for the same reason.

Not quite correct.

Combat Challenge is not an Opportunity Attack because it is an Immediate Interrupt that is triggered by something else entirely.

Both Opportunity Attacks and Combat Challenge grant Melee Basic Attacks.
 

A fighter's Opportunity Attack stops a creature on a hit, and it can move no further as part of that action. If the creature still has unspent actions which could be used for movement, it can spend them to move on, and the fighter cannot attack it again, since he's already used an Opportunity Action on its turn.

Note that the fighter's Immediate Interrupt attack against an adjacent marked opponent which shifts or attacks another target is not an Opportunity Attack. He neither gains his Wisdom bonus to the attack nor stops the target's movement if he hits.

Does he get both, our DM is only letting the fighter get one as he says the fighter can have only 1 OA
 

Does he get both, our DM is only letting the fighter get one as he says the fighter can have only 1 OA

As mentioned, Combat Challenge is NOT an Opportunity Attack, it is an Immediate Action, which is a completely separate category of out-of-turn actions.

So, for instance, if a marked opponent next to the fighter makes a ranged attack against another character, the fighter can make both an Opportunity Attack and a Combat Challenge attack against him, in either order.

For another example, if an opponent moves past the fighter, provoking an Opportunity Attack, and the fighter hits him and stops his movement, he is now marked by the fighter. If that opponent now tries to use its remaining actions to shift away from the fighter or attack another creature, the Fighter can make his Combat Challenge attack against that opponent.

However, note that any character can have only one Immediate Action per round. If one opponent triggers the fighter's Combat Challenge attack (or if he uses any other form of Immediate Action), he cannot then use that attack when subsequently triggered until it refreshes on his next turn.
 

As for making an OA on your turn, you can't ...
But some circumstances or powers would make it possible if the rules allow it.
[...]
Or if a monster readied a charge on your turn, and charges past you.

If a monster triggers and action on your turn, does the monster make it temporarily itw own turn, which would make it not your turn and thus allow the OA?
 

If a monster triggers and action on your turn, does the monster make it temporarily itw own turn, which would make it not your turn and thus allow the OA?

No. Readied actions in 4e are Immediate Actions, and thus explicitly happen outside the user's turn. If a monster's Readied action (or any other type of Immediate, Opportunity or Free action) is triggered during your turn, then it's still your turn as those actions are resolved.
 

As mentioned, Combat Challenge is NOT an Opportunity Attack, it is an Immediate Action, which is a completely separate category of out-of-turn actions.

So, for instance, if a marked opponent next to the fighter makes a ranged attack against another character, the fighter can make both an Opportunity Attack and a Combat Challenge attack against him, in either order.

<snip>

However, note that any character can have only one Immediate Action per round. If one opponent triggers the fighter's Combat Challenge attack (or if he uses any other form of Immediate Action), he cannot then use that attack when subsequently triggered until it refreshes on his next turn.

Combat Challenge and Opportunity Attacks are both immediate actions (one is an interrupt and the other is a reaction). You have largely proven your own example to be false, but seem to be confusing two different rules. You are only allowed to trigger ONE immediate INTERRUPT per round. This means that Combat Challenge can only be used once per round because it is in interrupt. You can take ONE immediate REACTION for each enemy creature's turn. This is what allows you to use an OA on each creature when it goes.

Your example of the marked archer making a ranged attack while adjacent to you shows how a single action can meet the trigger requirements for both OA AND Combat Challenge, but the decision then rests with the player as to which action (s)he wishes to use, but using both is against RAW.
 

No CovertOps you are confused. Opportunity Action and Immediate Action are two separate types of actions. An Opportunity Attack is a type of Opportunity Action. Immediate Interrupts and Immediate Reactions are two types of Immediate Actions. It's the Opportunity and Immediate parts that are important not interrupt and reaction.

Opportunity actions can be used once per each enemy's turn
Immediate actions can only be used one per round.
Please see page 268 of the PHB.
 

Combat Challenge and Opportunity Attacks are both immediate actions (one is an interrupt and the other is a reaction).

No, they're really not. Immediate Actions and Opportunity Actions are two totally different categories of out-of-turn action.

A character can take one Immediate Action per round. They can, independently of this, take one Opportunity Action per oppoent's turn.

Go back and re-read the PHB rules on Opportunity Actions.
 
Last edited:

See...this is what I get for posting from work....

*leaves work and goes home to read*

Gonna have to stop posting from memory. It's turning to swiss cheese.
 

Remove ads

Top