Overrunning a Prone Target

Stalker0 said:
This is not true, a 5 foot step is a special game mechanic...it is not simply moving 5 feet.

For example, if your speed is reduced or hampered because of terrain, you can move 5 feet, but you CANNOT take a 5 foot step.

I don’t have the texts in front of me right this second however: The scenario you use above cannot happen in the game – one’s movement is never “hampered” to the point of moving only five feet in the sense that you state. The language used in the rules is “cost”. As in “it costs 10 feet of movement to move 5 feet” or something to that effect. Thus in that scenario it is not possible to make a 5 foot step or move whichever you choose to call it.

I do not see anywhere in the RAW where it differentiates between the two “step” and “move”. If there is I stand corrected – but the above still holds
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Infiniti2000 said:
Yes, you specifically provoke an AoO because you move into the defender's space. This is a movement-based AoO and therefore the opponent only gets one per round. This is not an attack-based AoO like, say, disarm.

This is a common misconception. However, nowhere do the RAW state that you can only get one movement based AoO per round. What they do state is that LEAVING multiple threatened squares only counts as one opportunity.

It is very plausible to interpret the following text as indicating a separate cause for an AoO: entering an occupied square. This would be consistent with the grapple mechanics (which don't seem to ignore the AoO for moving into an opponent's square if that five feet of movement is your entire movement for the round).

Since most creatures and NPCs don't have Combat Reflexes, however, it will usually be a moot point.

SRD said:
A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.

Creatures that take up less than 1 square of space typically have a natural reach of 0 feet, meaning they can’t reach into adjacent squares. They must enter an opponent’s square to attack in melee. This provokes an attack of opportunity from the opponent.
 

kmdietri said:
If a target is prone when you begin your overrun you will still draw an AoO but you can automatically move past them?

To go back to the original question, I think the key lies in this sentence: "If you succeed in knocking your opponent prone, you can continue your movement as normal."

I think the best, simplest, and most intuitive solution is to simply unpack that first clause. What does it mean to "succeed" in the previous step? To knock your opponent prone and not be knocked proned yourself.

So you could, with a fair degree of legitimacy, reword that sentence as: "If your opponent is prone and you have not been knocked prone, you can continue your movement as normal."

So, if your opponent is prone when you begin your overrun attempt, the resolution sequence would like this:

1. You provoke an attack of opportunity for moving into their space.
2. If the defender avoids you, you continue moving.
3. If the defender attempts to block you, make a Strength check opposed by the Strength or Dexterity check (with modifiers).
4. If you succeed on the check, you continue your movement normally.
5. If they succeed on the check, they can immediately make a Strength check opposed by your Strength or Dexterity check to try to knock you prone. If they succeed, you move back 5 feet in the direction you came and fall prone. If they fail, you continue your movement normally (despite the fact you failed your original check) because they're already prone (and can't stop you).

Justin Alexander Bacon
http://www.thealexandrian.net
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top