Merlin the Tuna
First Post
Raising caster level doesn't raise scroll DCs.If they're making scrolls with higher than normal DCs, then they'll pay the commensurate cost -- higher caster level = higher save DC = higher expense. Sounds fine to me.
Edit:Saving Throws Against Magic Item Powers said:Magic items produce spells or spell-like effects. For a saving throw against a spell or spell-like effect from a magic item, the DC is 10 + the level of the spell or effect + the ability modifier of the minimum ability score needed to cast that level of spell.
Again, according to the SRD, no matter what the scribe's casting stat modifier is, his Grease scrolls are DC 11, his Glitterdust is always DC 13, and so on and so forth. Staffs are the only exception to this rule.Save DC is not attached to CL at all, it is just assumed the wizard making the scroll has the min. casting score required. If the wizard is a PC with int 20, his grease scrolls will be DC 16 regardless of what CL he creates it at.
Last edited: