Yeah, I very much doubt the entries in the Player's Handbook will read "You can reuse this ability whenever your DM says you can."Quantarum said:I'm not so sure the definition of an encounter is going to be so arbitrary. Imagine what players would think if a DM altered his definition of an encounter from one to the next to fit his story…
Player: I’m gonna smite the giant!
DM: Sorry, you used your last smite just a few rounds ago.
Player: But that was against a hellhound in the hall 100’ back!
DM: Yes, but escaping from here is just one big encounter, dramatic ain’t it? Didn’t you wonder why we kept the same initiative?
Player: …
-Q.
"Taking five" is the most likely recover mechanic.