Player Hubris

D'nemy

First Post
I need a little advice here and I'm not sure if this topic has been talked to death before and if it has I apologize for trawling it up again.

I've been playing for 25+ years as both a player and a DM/GM and one thing I keep running into and cannot stand is what I call "Player Hubris."

It goes something like this...

The paladin or LG cleric tortures the helpless kobold for information.

The NG rogue steals some bottles of mead from a poor innkeeper. When called on it by me as GM their response is always "but I'm a thief! That's what I do!"

The whole gang decides to use a captured Drow as trap fodder. Sending her first through every intersection, threshold, staircase and room. After a few false alarms the bound dark elf is hacked to pieces by some whirling blades that come out of the walls. All these "good guys" laugh about it and marvel at how "cool" that was.

In short, it's this idea that so long as we call the other thing "evil" we can do whatever we want as characters... and any punishments a fellow player or DM/GM may bring for such actions is always met with scorn and threats to leave the game. ALWAYS.

I have two questions.

The first is practical... What do you do as DM's to deal with this kind of behavior?

The second question is more philosophical.... Does this kind of activity, all in the name of GOOD, shine a stark light on a decaying or completely dead moral/ethical framework on those players who indulge in it?

What is a hero? What is a villain? Is the CE or LG on their stats or is it what they do and how they act?

any punishments a fellow player or DM/GM may bring for such actions is always met with scorn and threats to leave the game. ALWAYS.

First of all, those are childish threats. I'd reconsider my association with these people.

Secondly, their character's behavior could be ok, if it's that type of game you want to be playing.