If it is not on your character sheet then you don't have it. This is our rule and it bit me in the butt once I had transfered to a new character sheet and had not written everything down. I knew I had a rope but I forgot to transfer it so when we we needed  the DM ruled since it was not on my sheet it was not with me.
I was fine with that.
I have played in games where the DM didn't care and it aways amazed me how someone alsways had on hand anything that was needed. :\
				
			I was fine with that.
I have played in games where the DM didn't care and it aways amazed me how someone alsways had on hand anything that was needed. :\