D&D General Playing OD&D (1974) in the Year of the Dragon (2024)

CleverNickName

Limit Break Dancing
For all my long history with the hobby--I've been playing since the late 1980s--I've never played the original 1974 version of Dungeons & Dragons. And that's about to change!

A bit of background:

I have three gaming groups--my "main" gaming group plays 5E D&D every Friday night over Roll20, my spouse's gaming group also plays 5E D&D every third Saturday, and my high-school gaming group is still rocking the red-box BECM game over Roll20 one a month. I'm a lucky moogle.

Well, next month I will be 50 years old. An important milestone, for sure! It seemed most appropriate that I, someone who was born in 1974, should celebrate the occasion by playing the game that was also "born" in 1974. And this is 2024, the Year of the Dragon...so playing Dungeons and Dragons is just too perfect. It feels like the stars have aligned. And so for my 50th Birthday party, I'm rolling out the white booklet and hosting an OD&D gaming session.

1711554875818.png

Follow along!

Last edited:

CleverNickName

Limit Break Dancing
The first thing I had to do was get a group together. So last weekend, I sent out an email to everyone in my "regular" 5E D&D gaming group. They were slow to respond, so I sent an email out to my high-school gaming group. (I didn't reach out to my spouse's gaming group because it's rude to poach another DM's players, even if the other DM is your spouse.)

When the responses came in, they were enthusiastic.

Aaron: "Hell yeah brother, let's dooooo iiiiiit!"
Brad: "Sounds fun, count me in."
Chuck: "For a one-shot? Yes. For longer? Also yes."
Derrik: "never played it but sounds fun. anything for your birthday."
Edward: (hasn't responded, he can take weeks to check email. It's a problem.)